Streaking Babb Gets Fifth Consecutive ‘Hell Tour’ Victory at Attica

ATTICA, Ohio. – July 15, 2011 – Shannon Babb wants to win every DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour event he enters, evidenced by him winning his fifth consecutive race Friday night at Attica Raceway Park.

(For the latest breaking news from the DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour, click here to follow along on Twitter.)

Babb, who will be crowned DIRTcar Summer Nationals Champion for the third time in his career after Saturday night’s event at Oakshade Raceway, started fourth in the main event and battled with Pinconning, Mich., driver Jeep Van Wormer and current DIRTcar Late Model National point leader Ryan Unzicker of El Paso, Ill., through heavy lapped traffic to earn his eighth win of the 2011 tour worth $5,000.  Van Wormer settled for second, his second consecutive runner-up finish to Babb.  Unzicker crossed the line in third ahead of Greenbriar, Ark., driver Jack Sullivan and home state driver Jon Henry of Ada, Ohio.

Click this link for more news and information about the DIRTcar Summer Nationals.

Babb, who has clinched his third ‘Hell Tour’ championship, extends his point lead heading into the final event of the 2011 DIRTcar Summer Nationals to 311 points over Scott James of Lawrenceburg, Ind., and 377 points over Erb.  Major point races within the top seven drivers on tour are still to be decided with no driver outside of Babb being more than 74 points ahead of their closest competitor.  Only 11 points separate fifth-place Sullivan from sixth-place Brandon Sheppard of New Berlin, Ill.

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals wrap up the 2011 tour Saturday night with the 13th Annual ‘Birthday Race’ at Oakshade Raceway in Wauseon, Ohio.

DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour Statistical Report; Attica Raceway Park; Attica, Ohio; July 15, 2011

A-Main (40-Laps): 1. Shannon Babb ($5,000), 2. Jeep Van Wormer, 3. Ryan Unzicker, 4. Jack Sullivan, 5. Jon Henry, 6. Dennis Erb Jr., 7. Scott James, 8. Matt Miller, 9. Doug Drown, 10. Scott Riggs, 11. Rody Schroyer, 12. Casey Noonan, 13. Dillan White, 14. Dusty Moore, 15. Ryan Missler, 16. Craig Vosbergen, 17. Steve Kester, 18. Brandon Sheppard, 19. Devin Shiels, 20. Brain Ruhlman, 21. Rick Delong, 22. Matt Furman. Fast qualifiers (among 38 cars): Unzicker, Sheppard, Miller, Van Wormer. Heat race winners: Unzicker, Van Wormer, Sullivan, Babb. C-main winner: Justin Chance. B-main winner: Ruhlman. Provisional starters: Vosbergen, Shiels, Missler, Kester.

2011 DIRTcar Summer Nationals “The Hell Tour” Schedule

Date Track Location Winner (Cars)
June 15 Brownstown Speedway Brownstown, Ind. PPD/July 12
June 16 Kankakee County Speedway Kankakee, Ill. Mike Spatola (37)
June 17 Cedar Lake Speedway Cedar Lake, Wis. Scott James (29)
June 18 Cedar Lake Speedway Cedar Lake, Wis. Canceled Rain
June 20 LaSalle Speedway LaSalle, Ill. PPD/July 13
June 21 Spoon River Speedway Canton, Ill. PPD/July 14
June 22 Highland Speedway Highland, Ill. Scott James (50)
June 23 Fayette County Speedway Brownstown, Ill. Jason Feger (48)
June 24 Tri-City Speedway Pontoon Beach, Ill. Dan Schlieper (52)
June 25 Fairbury American Legion Speedway Fairbury, Ill. PPD/July 23
June 26 I-96 Speedway Lake Odessa, Mich. Shannon Babb (46)
June 28 Lincoln Park Speedway Putnamville, Ind. Shannon Babb (22)
June 29 Belle Clair Speedway Belleville, Ill. Ryan Unzicker (32)
June 30 Clay Hill Motorsports Park Atwood, Tenn. Mike Spatola (30)
July 1 Paducah International Raceway Paducah, Ky. Ray Cook (40)
July 2 I-55 Raceway Pevely, Mo. Billy Moyer (41)
July 3 Lincoln Speedway Lincoln, Ill. Brandon Sheppard (35)
July 4 34 Raceway Burlington, Iowa Brian Birkhofer (26)
July 6 Peoria Speedway Peoria, Ill. Shannon Babb (38)
July 7 Macon Speedway Macon, Ill. PPD/July 21
July 8 Farmer City Raceway Farmer City, Ill. Brandon Sheppard (41)
July 9 Clarksville Speedway Clarksville, Tenn. Wendell Wallace (44)
July 10 Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, Ind. Shannon Babb (35)
July 12 Brownstown Speedway Brownstown, Ind. Shannon Babb (40)
July 13 LaSalle Speedway LaSalle, Ill. Shannon Babb (29)
July 14 Spoon River Speedway Canton, Ill. Shannon Babb( 38)
July 15 Attica Raceway Park Attica, Ohio Shannon Babb(38)
July 16 Oakshade Raceway Wauseon, Ohio

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals is brought to fans by many important sponsors and partners including Hoosier Racing Tires, GM Performance Parts, ASI Racewear, Comp Cams, Intercomp Racing, JE Pistons, QuarterMaster, Superflow, Wix Filters, Wrisco Aluminum, the University of Northwestern Ohio, R2C Competition Series Air Filters, VP Racing Fuels, Racing Electronics, ButlerBuilt, MSD Ignition, Chizmark Larson Insurance, Vicci Apparel, Beyea Custom Headers, Fusion Graphics & Sign Company, Dyer’s Rods, and Ohlins Shocks.