Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tickets Sold Out For 23rd Annual UMP Awards Banquet On Jan. 20 In Springfield, Ill.

By Kevin Kovac

EVANSVILLE, IN – Jan. 10, 2007 – Unprecedented interest has made a sell-out of the 23rd annual United Midwestern Promoters (UMP) Awards Banquet on Sat., Jan. 20, at the Springfield (Ill.) Hilton, UMP director Sam Driggers announced today.

“We’ve done all we can to accommodate as many people as possible in the Hilton’s Grand Ballroom, but we’ve reached the point where we can’t sell any more tickets,” said Driggers.

This is the first time in UMP’s history that the awards banquet’s tickets have been sold out in advance, said Driggers.

While no more tickets are available, Driggers said that a waiting list has been established for UMP faithful who are still interested in attending the banquet. Those parties can call the UMP office at 812-426-1200 or Driggers’s cell phone at 405-488-5561 to have their names put on the stand-by list.

“If there are any cancellations by people already holding tickets,” said Driggers, “we’ll call the people who are on the waiting list and offer them the opportunity to purchase the tickets and have dinner with us.”

The 23rd annual UMP Awards Banquet is scheduled to begin on Sat., Jan. 20, with (naughty word)tails at 5 p.m. CST. Dinner will be served at 6:30 p.m. CST, followed by the presentation of awards and entertainment.

Rick Eshelman, the lead announcer of the 360 OTC World of Outlaws Late Model Series, will serve as emcee of the night’s activities.

Earning the lion’s share of the attention during the banquet will be UMP Late Model national champion Randy Korte of Highland, Ill., and UMP Modified national titlist Dan Hamstra of Wheatland, Ind. Both drivers will receive $20,000 checks for their points crowns.

Other 2006 UMP national champs set to be honored are Bobby Fehring of Mont Belview, Texas (Limited Modifieds), Troy Naeger of Festus, Mo. (Sportsman) and Jerrad Krick of Earl Park, Ind. (Street Stocks).

Awards will also be distributed to the top finishers in UMP’s Late Model Summernationals and each UMP division’s regional and state point standings, and “Outstanding Awards” will be presented to the Promoter of the Year, Track of the Year, Sportsman of the Year (Late Model and Modified) and Mechanic of the Year (Late Model and Modified) as voted by UMP member drivers.

In addition, the Bob Memmer Award, named in honor of UMP’s late founder, will be presented to a person who has helped make the UMP organization a success.

For more information on UMP, visit

No tags for this post.

You May Also Like


There’s a small list of events in the dirt track racing world that have reached an elite level of prestige. Win one, and you’ve...


The eighth annual World Short Track Championship at The Dirt Track at Charlotte presents the ultimate destination for short tracks racers, Oct. 26-28, and...


Cruise Caudell made it three first-time winners in three races to open up Season 5 for the DIRTcar eSports Street Stock League Wednesday night,...


By Matt Skipper Saturday’s ARP Street Stock Feature during the seventh annual World Short Track Champion at The Dirt Track at Charlotte saw a...