Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

UMP DIRTcar Summer Nationals Night 10: Moyer Bags First Victory Of ’08 Tour At Lake Ozark Speedway

Billy Moyer - 2008 Lake Ozark Speedway SN

Billy Moyer - 2008 Lake Ozark Speedway SN


By Kellen Burns/DIRTcar Racing P.R. –

One night after the low groove did him in at the historic Sedalia (Mo.) State Fair Speedway, veteran Billy Moyer of Batesville, Ark., was determined to not bare witness to a repeat performance.

A six-time UMP DIRTcar Summer Nationals champion, Moyer didn’t let another race slip through his fingers. He emerged victorious for the first time on the 2008 tour with a win in Wednesday night’s 40-lap A-Main at Lake Ozark Speedway.

Moyer, 50, made a strong jump from the fourth starting spot and maneuvered around defending UMP Summer Nationals champion Dennis Erb Jr. of Carpentersville, Ill., for the lead on lap five. He never looked back as he powered his Victory Circle M1 Chassis into Victory Lane for his alltime series-leading 63rd time.

The dirt Late Model legend, who’s affectionately known to many as ‘Mr. Smooth,’ displayed the style he’s known for during his drive to the $6,000 checkered flag.

“It was a long time coming this year it seemed,” the driver of the familiar No. 21 said of his initial triumph on this season’s grueling trail. “We’ve had some good runs, but just been a little off. We keep learning on this car and I made some adjustments.

“More so than blaming it on the tires like I did last night, I think the car was just a little off.”

Moyer was followed across the finish line by Erb, who started from the pole position and set the pace until relinquishing the catbird’s seat to Moyer on the fifth circuit.

“Yeah, if I wouldn’t have slipped up there and he wouldn’t have got around me, I think I would have been alright,” remarked Erb.

One of the night’s biggest movers was Darren Miller of Milledgeville, Ill., who started 11th and quietly made his was to a third-place finish. The tour’s only ’08 repeat winner attributed his advance to the factor that has produced his recent success.

“Patience,” said Miller. “The bottom was definitely better for me, but then towards the end of the race I moved towards the middle. It was pretty good on restarts because we could pack it down under caution.”

Miller uncertain of whether or not he could have outdueled Moyer if given the chance.

“I felt pretty good out there,” said Miller. “I could make up ground on entry, but they were better on exit. He would have definitely been hard to get by.”

Summer Nationals points leader Brian Shirley of Chatham, Ill., finished fourth and Randy Korte of Highland, Ill., placed fifth.

The feature event was slowed by four cautions, the last of which came on lap 36 for former UMP Summer Nationals champion Don O’Neal of Martinsville, Ind. He used a thin cushion to climb from the 14th starting spot to second before making contact with the turn-four wall.

Thirty-one cars entered the event, with Erb’s lap of 14.995 seconds the fastest of the group qualifying session.

Heat winners were Mark Burgtorf of Quincy, Ill., Erb, Moyer and Wes Steidinger of Fairbury, Ill., and the B-Main was captured by Denny Woodworth of Mendon, Ill.

The UMP DIRTcar Summer Nationals moves to Paducah (Ky.) International Raceway on Thursday night (June 26).

For more information on the UMP DIRTcar Summer Nationals, visit

UMP DIRTcar Summer Nationals Feature Finish (40 laps):

1. Billy Moyer
2. Dennis Erb Jr.
3. Darren Miller
4. Brian Shirley
5. Randy Korte
6. Ryan Unzicker
7. Wes Steidinger
8. Denny Woodworth
9. J.D. Hubert
10. Mike Hammerle
11. Andrew McCay
12. Duane Kiefer
13. Don O’Neal
14. Terry English
15. Rusy Dukes
16. Jordan Bland
17. Mark Burgtorf
18. Steve Sheppard Jr.
19. Will Vaught
20. Jeep VanWormer
21. Craig Smith

B-Main Finish: Denny Woodworth, Rusty Dukes, Jordan Bland, Tim Lance, Jason McBride, Chris Smyser, Billy Moyer Jr., Reid Millard, Donnie Gemes, Steve Beach, Chris Fetter, Craig Smith. Scratched: Tim Manville, Trace Westling, Eric Turner

UMP DIRTcar Summer Nationals Points Standings (after 10 events):

1. Brian Shirley 770
2. Dennis Erb Jr. 751
3. Will Vaught 658
4. Wes Steidinger 651
5. Jeep VanWormer 649
6. Randy Korte 592
7. Steve Sheppard Jr. 545
8. Jason Feger 511
9. Billy Moyer 479
10. Darren Miller 478
11. Dewayne Keifer 453
12. Terry English 390
13. Kevin Claycomb 372
14. Kevin Weaver 372
15. Jordan Bland 344

2008 UMP DIRTcar Racing Summer Nationals Schedule (Date/Day/Track/Location/To Win/Winner – Car Count):

June 12 – Thurs. – Kentucky Lake Motor Speedway/Calvert City, KY – $7,500 (Brad Neat – 40)
June 13 – Fri. – Brownstown (IN) Speedway – $10,000 (Rain – postponed to July 11)
June 14 – Sat. – Kamp Motor Speedway/Boswell, IN – $10,000 (Wes Steidinger – 36)
June 15 – Sun. – Tri-State Speedway/Haubstadt, IN – $6,000 (Dennis Erb Jr. – 39)
June 16 – Mon – OFF
June 17 – Tues. – Highland Speedway/Highland, IL – $6,000 (Terry English – 47)
June 18 – Wed. – Belle Clair Speedway/Belleville, IL – $6,000 (Will Vaught – 41)
June 19 – Thurs. – I-57/I-64 Raceway/Mt. Vernon, IL – $6,000 (Darren Miller – 37)
June 20 – Fri. – Farmer City Raceway/Farmer City, IL – $10,000 (Darren Miller – 50)
June 21 – Sat. – I-55 Raceway/Pevely, MO – $10,000 (CANCELED – flooding)
June 22 – Sun. – Vermilion Co. Speedway/Danville, IL – $6,000 (Jeep VanWormer – 43)
June 23 – Mon. – OFF
June 24 – Tue. – Sedalia State Fair Speedway/Sedalia, MO – $6,000 (Brian Shirley – 27)
June 25 – Wed. – Lake Ozark Speedway/Eldon, MO – $6,000 (Billy Moyer – 31)
June 26 – Thurs. – Paducah Int’l Raceway/Paducah, KY – $6,000
June 27 – Fri. – Lawrenceburg Speedway/Lawrenceburg, IN – $10,000
June 28 – Sat. – Clarksville Speedway/Clarksville, TN – $10,000
June 29 – Sun. – Lincoln Speedway/Lincoln, IL – $6,000
June 30 – Mon. – OFF
July 1 – Tue. – Peoria Speedway/Peoria, IL – $6,000
July 2 – Wed. – Morgan Co. Speedway/Jacksonville, IL – $6,000
July 3 – Thurs. – Macon Speedway/Macon, IL – $6,000
July 4 – Fri. – Tri-City Speedway/Pontoon Beach, IL – $10,000
July 5 – Sat. – Fairbury American Legion Speedway/Fairbury, IL -$10,000
July 6 – Sun. – Quad City Raceway/East Moline, IL – $6,000
July 7 – Mon. – OFF
July 8 – Tue. – Quincy (IL) Speedway – $6,000
July 9 – Wed. – Spoon River Speedway/Canton, IL – $6,000
July 10 – Thurs. – La Salle Speedway/La Salle, IL – $6,000
July 11 – Fri. – Brownstown (IN) Speedway – $10,000 (Rescheduled date)
July 12 – Sat. – Oakshade Raceway/Wauseon, OH – $10,000

No tags for this post.

You May Also Like


The DIRTcar Summer Nationals returns for its 39th installment with a five-week lineup of events in 2024. Late Models will contest a total of...


Forty years of weekly DIRTcar Racing is now in the history books. The 28th edition of DIRTcar’s year-end special event concluded appropriately Saturday night...


DIRTcar’s brightest weekly racing stars came out for opening night of the 28th annual DIRTcar Fall Nationals and put on four great shows Friday...


Racing begins Friday; gates open at 4pm, Hot Laps at 6pm A warm Thursday evening at Lincoln Speedway provided a strong playground for 40...