Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

UMP DIRTcar Summer Nationals Night 3: Eric Smith Powers to Kamp Motor Speedway Win

DIRTcar Summer NationalsBoswell,IN — Eric Smith is no stranger to racing on a big stage but may have never experienced a win like what he earned Friday night at Kamp Motor Speedway in Boswell, IN.

“We’ve always been pretty good here,” said an ecstatic Smith after his win. “But to actually win a $10,000 to win show, it’s the biggest race I’ve ever won.”

Smith used a heat race win to secure the pole starting position via a redraw but he had his work cut out for him. Rising star Brandon Sheppard jumped out to lead the field the initial six circuits before Smith made his move low on Sheppard to take the lead. “I thought maybe when I jumped the cushion a couple times that I broke a break line,” explained Smith. “When I pumped the breaks they’d work a little but, I couldn’t use them to get in the corner.”

Smith was chased to the line by El Paso,IL pilot and Summer Nationals regular Ryan Unzicker who made a late charge after battling with third place finisher Terry Casey.

“I couldn’t tell if Ryan was getting close at the end,” said Smith. “I tried to run hard the whole time but running on the cushion, it will wear you out.”

A former track champion at nearby Farmer City Raceway, Unzicker was looking to make the final few laps very interesting for the Kamp Motor Speedway crowd. I was expecting him (Smith) to go high and I was going to jump down to the bottom,” remarked the 27 year old Unzicker. I went to the top and I think I overcorrected myself.”

“If I wouldn’t have jumped the cushion it would have been a very exciting end to the race,” Unzicker said.

Wisconsin native Terry Casey rounded out the podium at Kamp Motor Speedway. Casey, a driver known to fans as “Mr. Excitement” definitely lived up to his moniker on a very fast track but felt fortunate at the end of the night to be where he was due to mechanical issues. “I lost my brakes after the first caution,” said Casey, who swerved to avoid Smith and Unzicker under the first caution. “I thought I did ok without any brakes,” joked Casey.

44 UMP DIRTcar Late Models entered through the pit gates of the 3/8th mile oval Saturday night. Group qualifying quick times were posted by eventual third place finisher Terry Casey, Towanda, IL pilot Donny Walden, as well as two second generation drivers in Brandon Sheppard, and Frank Heckenast Jr.

The pole was the lucky place to be as heat race action saw all but one group fast timer claim their heat race win with eventual winner Smith capturing heat two over Walden. Joey Janowski and JR Hotovy both claimed spots in the night’s A-Main event with consolation finishes. Dan Walden, Ted Loomis, and Wes Steidinger all used provisionals to start the A-Main.

Heat 1:
1. Terry Casey
2. Brent Kreke
3. Jason McBride
4. Steve Sheppard Jr.
5. Bryant Dickinson
6. Jim Moon
DNS. Dennis Erb Jr.
DNS. Shannon Babb
DNS. Derek Chandler
DNS. Rodney Melvin
DNS. Scott Schmitt

Heat 2:
1. Eric Smith
2. Donny Walden
3. Duane Chamberlain
4. Dick Potts
5. Joe Janowski
6. Christian Rayburn
7. Cory Rolfe
8. Brad Heady
DNS. Billy Moyer
DNS. Pete Parker

Heat 3:
1. Brandon Sheppard
2. Ryan Unzicker
3. Guy Volk
4. Justin Rattliff
5. J.R. Hotovy
DNS. Scott James
DNS. Brian Shirley
DNS. Mike Petersak
DNS. Randy Korte
DNS. Will Vaught
DNS. Mark Voigt

Heat 4:
1. Frank Heckenast Jr.
2. Steve Dimmick
3. Kevin Weaver
4. Jason Feger
5. Ted Loomis
6. Rich Neiser
7. Dan Walden
8. Russ Adams
9. Wes Steidinger
DNS. Jeep Van Wormer

1. Joe Janowski
2. J.R. Hotovy

A-Main Finish – 40 Laps

  1. 9 – Eric Smith
  2. 24 – Ryan Unzicker
  3. 42 – Terry Casey
  4. 99 – Frank Heckenast Jr.
  5. 5s – Steve Sheppard
  6. 1c – Duane Chamberlain
  7. V77 – Guy Volk
  8. 6J – Joey Janowski
  9. 11 – Steve Dimmick
  10. 77 – Jason McBride
  11. 25 – Jason Feger
  12. 1w – Donny Walden
  13. 25w – Dan Walden
  14. 13H – JR Hotovy
  15. B5 – Brandon Sheppard
  16. 16 – Justin Ratliff
  17. J1 – Wes Steidinger
  18. 1 – Jim Moon
  19. 13 – Brent Kreke
  20. 23 – Ted Loomis
  21. 92 – Dick Potts
  22. B12 – Kevin Weaver

For more information on the UMP DIRTcar Summer Nationals Tour fans can visit

Fans can now receive news, updates and other behind-the-scenes information about the UMP DIRTcar Summer Nationals by following the tour’s official feed on Twitter, the internet’s fast-growing social-networking and micro-blogging website.

Fans can view the latest text posts and subscribe as “followers” of the WoO LMS at .

2009 UMP DIRTcar Summer Nationals Schedule


06/11/09 Brownstown Speedway – Brownstown, IN – $6,000 (Jeep VanWormer – 40)
06/12/09 Kankakee Motor Speedway – Kankakee,IL – $10,000 (Billy Moyer – 51)
06/13/09 Kamp Motor Speedway – Boswell, IN – $10,000 (Eric Smith – 44)
06/14/09 Quad City Raceway – East Moline, IL – $6,000
06/16/09 Highland Speedway – Highland, IL – $6,000
06/17/09 Belle-Clair Speedway – Belleville, IL – $6,000
06/18/09 Charleston Speedway – Charleston, IL – $6,000
06/19/09 Farmer City Raceway – Farmer City, IL – $10,000
06/20/09 Clarksville Speedway – Clarksville, TN – $10,000
06/21/09 Tri-State Speedway – Haubstadt, IN – $6,000
06/23/09 I-57/I-64 Speedway – Mt. Vernon, IL $6,000
06/24/09 Tri-City Speedway – Pontoon Beach, IL $6,000
06/25/09 Clay Hill Motorsports Park – Atwood, TN – $6,000
06/26/09 Paducah International Raceway – Paducah, KY – $10,000
06/27/09 Fairbury Speedway – Fairbury, IL – $10,000
06/28/09 Lincoln Speedway – Lincoln, IL – $6,000
06/30/09 Peoria Speedway – Peoria, IL – $6,000
07/01/09 Morgan County Speedway – Jacksonville, IL – $6,000
07/02/09 Macon Speedway – Macon, IL – $6,000
07/03/09 Quincy Raceway – Quincy, IL – $10,000
07/04/09 I-55 Raceway – Pevely, MO – $10,000
07/05/09 Vermillion County Speedway – Danville, IL – $6,000
07/07/09 Shepp Speedway – Alexandria, IL – $6,000
07/08/09 Spoon River Speedway – Canton,IL $6,000
07/09/09 LaSalle Speedway – LaSalle, IL – $6,000
07/10/09 Waynesfield Motorsports Park – Waynesfield, OH – $10,000
07/11/09 Oakshade Raceway – Wauseon, OH – 10,000

The UMP DIRTcar Summer Nationals is brought to race fans by many important sponsors and partners, including: VP Racing Fuels, CJ Rayburn Race Cars, Hoosier Racing Tire, Quarter Master, Just Plugs, Special Olympics, Wrisco Aluminum, Eibach Springs, and Integra Racing Shocks.

No tags for this post.

You May Also Like

DIRTcar Late Models

DIRTcar Racing officials have issued a suspension and fine to Late Model driver Kyle Bronson for failing a tire test after competing in the...

DIRTcar Late Models

Nearly 50 of the best dirt Late Model drivers in the country gathered at Volusia Speedway Park for a tripleheader of DIRTcar Late Model...


MD3 is giving Rookie of the Year contenders with the World of Outlaws CASE Construction Equipment Late Models and DIRTcar Summer Nationals Late Models...


The DIRTcar Summer Nationals returns for its 39th installment with a five-week lineup of events in 2024. Late Models will contest a total of...