Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

UMP DIRTcar Summer Nationals Race 11: Moyer Goes Back to Back for Paducah Victory

DIRTcar Summer NationalsPaducah,KY — June 26, 2009 – Using lapped traffic to his advantage, Batesville, Ark. legend Billy Moyer slid past previous “Hell Tour” winner Jason Feger to claim the lead and eventually the win Friday Night at Paducah International Raceway.

Moyer’s victory at Paducah was his second in as many nights on the 2009 edition of the “Hell Tour” and his fifth overall. Moyer followed in Feger’s tracks in the top groove patiently waiting to make his move as he did late to claim the $10,000 top prize and add to his all time series leading win total.

Feger, who has been strong recently, settled for a second place finish on the night up one position from his third place starting spot. Aptly named “The Highside Hustler” Feger used the top side of the very steep banking at Paducah to take the lead throughout the middle of the 40-lap main event as well as claim a heat race win, and quick time honors earlier in the night.

Highland, Ill., driver Randy Korte charged through the field, which is slowly becoming a theme for the driver nicknamed “King Kong” from his eleventh place starting spot to claim third. Unofficially, Korte becomes the new UMP DIRTcar Summer Nationals point leader.

Bill Frye and Will Vaught rounded out the top five on the night.

Heat 1:
1. Will Vaught
2. Chris Wall
3. Scott James
4. Jeff Walston
5. Jason Riggs
6. Kevin Weaver
7. Joe Morris
8. Tanner English
9. Kevin Cole
DNS. Steve Sheppard Jr.

Heat 2:
1. Jason Feger
2. Brad Neat
3. Terry Casey
4. Brian Shirley
5. Shannon Babb
6. Jason McBride
7. Brandon Sheppard
8. Donny Walden
9. Tim Brown
10. Troy Gay

Heat 3:
1. Billy Moyer
2. Terry English
3. Randy Korte
4. Dylan Thompson
5. Ryan Unzicker
6. Jeep Van Wormer
7. Justin Rattliff
8. Derek Chandler
9. Scott Schmitt
10. Brandon Thirlby

Heat 4:
1. Duane Chamberlain
2. Bill Frye
3. Dennis Erb Jr.
4. Rodney Melvin
5. Dane Dacus
6. Billy James
7. Brandon Chappell
8. Frank Heckenast Jr.
9. Troy Vancil

C Main:
1. Tanner English
2. Brent Kreke
3. Frank Heckenast Jr.
4. Derek Chandler
5. Donny Walden
6. Tim Brown
7. Scott Schmitt
8. Troy Gay
9. Troy Vancil

B Main:
1. Shannon Babb
2. Ryan Unzicker
3. Dane Dacus
4. Jason Riggs
5. Jeep Van Wormer
6. Kevin Weaver
7. Jason McBride
8. Brandon Chappell
9. Joe Morris
10. Frank Heckenast Jr.
11. Justin Rattliff
12. Derek Chandler
13. Brent Kreke
14. Donny Walden
15. Tanner English
16. Billy James

1. Billy Moyer
2. Jason Feger
3. Randy Korte
4. Bill Frye
5. Will Vaught
6. Terry English
7. Duane Chamberlain
8. Chris Wall
9. Jeep Van Wormer (Provisional)
10. Jeff Walston
11. Brian Shirley
12. Dennis Erb Jr.
13. Shannon Babb
14. Rodney Melvin
15. Kevin Weaver (Provisional)
16. Ryan Unzicker
17. Terry Casey
18. Brad Neat
19. Dylan Thompson
20. Kevin Cole (Provisional)
21. Scott James

41 UMP DIRTcar Late Models rolled through the pit gates at the 3/8-mile facilty in Southwest Kentucky. Four groups of qualifying time trials set the lineups for as many heat races on the night. Will Vaught of Crane, Mo. Was quickest in group one while Tri-City (Ill.), Speedway winner Jason Feger timed in fastest in group two. Homestate favorite Terry English was quickest in group three and quickest overall with a lap of 15.698 and Bill Frye rounded out qualifying with a group four fast time.

Will Vaught and Jason Feger both bested their individual heat races claiming wins from the pole while eventual winner Billy Moyer was the first non-polesitter to claim a heat race win in heat three. In heat race four action Duane Chamberlain used the top groove to power past Bill Frye and claim the win.

For more information on the UMP DIRTcar Summer Nationals Tour fans can visit

Fans can now receive news, updates and other behind-the-scenes information about the UMP DIRTcar Summer Nationals by following the tour’s official feed on Twitter, the internet’s fast-growing social-networking and micro-blogging website.

Fans can view the latest text posts and subscribe as “followers” of the Summer Nationals at .

2009 UMP DIRTcar Summer Nationals Schedule


06/11/09 Brownstown Speedway – Brownstown, IN – $6,000 (Jeep VanWormer – 43)
06/12/09 Kankakee Motor Speedway – Kankakee,IL – $10,000 (Billy Moyer – 51)
06/13/09 Kamp Motor Speedway – Boswell, IN – $10,000 (Eric Smith – 44)
06/14/09 Quad City Raceway – East Moline, IL – $6,000 (Dennis Erb – 31)
06/16/09 Highland Speedway – Highland, IL – $6,000 (RAIN)
06/17/09 Belle-Clair Speedway – Belleville, IL – $6,000 (Dennis Erb – 47)
06/18/09 Charleston Speedway – Charleston, IL – $6,000 (RAIN)
06/19/09 Farmer City Raceway – Farmer City, IL – $10,000 (RAIN)
06/20/09 Clarksville Speedway – Clarksville, TN – $10,000 (Billy Moyer – 44)
06/21/09 Tri-State Speedway – Haubstadt, IN – $6,000 (Jeep Van Wormer – 43)
06/23/09 Charleston Speedway – Charleston, IL $6,000 (Rodney Melvin – 26)
06/24/09 Tri-City Speedway – Pontoon Beach, IL $6,000 (Jason Feger – 34)
06/25/09 Clay Hill Motorsports Park – Atwood, TN – $6,000 (Billy Moyer – 38)
06/26/09 Paducah International Raceway – Paducah, KY – $10,000 (Billy Moyer – 41)
06/27/09 Fairbury Speedway – Fairbury, IL – $10,000
06/28/09 Lincoln Speedway – Lincoln, IL – $6,000
06/29/09 Farmer City Raceway – Farmer City,IL $6,000
06/30/09 Peoria Speedway – Peoria, IL – $6,000
07/01/09 Highland Speedway – Highland, IL – $6,000
07/02/09 Macon Speedway – Macon, IL – $6,000
07/03/09 Quincy Raceway – Quincy, IL – $10,000
07/04/09 I-55 Raceway – Pevely, MO – $10,000
07/05/09 Vermillion County Speedway – Danville, IL – $6,000
07/07/09 Shepp Speedway – Alexandria, IL – $6,000
07/08/09 Spoon River Speedway – Canton,IL $6,000
07/09/09 LaSalle Speedway – LaSalle, IL – $6,000
07/10/09 Waynesfield Motorsports Park – Waynesfield, OH – $10,000
07/11/09 Oakshade Raceway – Wauseon, OH – 10,000

The UMP DIRTcar Summer Nationals is brought to race fans by many important sponsors and partners, including: VP Racing Fuels, CJ Rayburn Race Cars, Hoosier Racing Tire, Quarter Master, Just Plugs, Special Olympics, Wrisco Aluminum, Eibach Springs, and Integra Racing Shocks.

No tags for this post.

You May Also Like

DIRTcar Late Models

DIRTcar Racing officials have issued a suspension and fine to Late Model driver Kyle Bronson for failing a tire test after competing in the...

DIRTcar Late Models

Nearly 50 of the best dirt Late Model drivers in the country gathered at Volusia Speedway Park for a tripleheader of DIRTcar Late Model...


MD3 is giving Rookie of the Year contenders with the World of Outlaws CASE Construction Equipment Late Models and DIRTcar Summer Nationals Late Models...


The DIRTcar Summer Nationals returns for its 39th installment with a five-week lineup of events in 2024. Late Models will contest a total of...