Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

UMP DIRTcar Summer Nationals Race 12: Moyer Claims Third Straight at Fairbury

DIRTcar Summer NationalsFairbury, IL — June 27, 2009 – People often theorize that things will happen three at a time. That’s certainly been the case lately for Billy Moyer.

On a night where Moyer once again climbed from outside the front row to claim his fifth overall win of the UMP DIRTcar Summer Nationals Tour he also claimed quick time honors as well as a heat race victory. The theme of three doesn’t stop there for the Batesville, Ark. legend as it was the third time throughout the first 12 events that Moyer has swept all three parts of the program he’s been involved in.

Moyer claimed the win ahead of Frank Heckenast Jr of Orland Park, Ill., who earned his career best finish on the “Hell Tour”. Heckenast drew the pole for the 50-lap main event and led through the early parts of the main event but eventually fell to Moyer on lap 14.

Kevin Weaver of Gibson City, Ill., who lead the “Hell Tour” point standings early in the 27-race tour passed Heckenast near the same point as Moyer but Heckenast fought back late to relegate Weaver to a third place finish.

Defending UMP DIRTcar Summer Nationals champion Dennis Erb settled for a fourth place finish while current point leader Randy Korte climbed from tenth to finish fifth and retain his overall point lead.

Heat 1:
1. Frank Heckenast Jr.
2. Dennis Erb Jr.
3. Jeep Van Wormer
4. Brian Shirley
5. Jason Feger
6. Duane Chamberlain
7. Eric Smith
8. Scott Bull
9. Aaron Rickets

Heat 2:
1. Rodney Melvin
2. Terry Casey
3. Randy Korte
4. Wes Steidinger
5. Joe Harlan
6. Derek Chandler
7. Brandon Sheppard
8. Rob Leisure
9. Eric Vaughn

Heat 3:
1. Kevin Weaver
2. Steve Sheppard Jr.
3. Donny Walden
4. Jimmy Dehm
5. George Scheffler
6. Russ Adams
7. Scott James
DNS. Will Vaught

Heat 4:
1. Billy Moyer
2. Ryan Unzicker
3. Bill Frye
4. Shannon Babb
5. Scott Schmitt
6. Brandon Thirlby
7. Tom Thoennes
8. Daren Friedman

B Main:
1. Jason Feger
2. Joe Harlan
3. Eric Smith
4. Scott Schmitt
5. George Scheffler
6. Duane Chamberlain
7. Aaron Ricketts
8. Scott Bull
9. Russ Adams
10. Daren Friedman
11. Eric Vaughan
12. Tom Thoennes
13. Brandon Thirlby
14. Derek Chandler

1. Billy Moyer
2. Frank Heckenast Jr.
3. Kevin Weaver
4. Dennis Erb Jr.
5. Randy Korte
6. Ryan Unzicker
7. Jason Feger
8. Joe Harlan
9. Shannon Babb
10. Steve Sheppard Jr.
11. Wes Steidinger
12. Brian Shirley
13. Eric Smith
14. Bill Frye
15. Daren Friedman
16. Rodney Melvin
17. Jimmy Dehm
18. Jeep Van Wormer
19. Scott James
20. Terry Casey
21. Donny Walden

34 UMP DIRTcar Late Models divided into four groups via pill draw for qualifying time trials. Fast time honors went to Billy Moyer, Steve Sheppard Jr., Rodney Melvin, and Jeep Van Wormer with Van Wormer being quickest overall with a lap of 12.85 seconds around the quarter mile semi banked oval.

Frank Heckenast Jr. moved by Jeep Van Wormer in heat race one and withstood multiple challenges throughout for the win over defending champion Dennis Erb. Melvin became one of two fast qualifiers to claim heat race wins in heats two while Kevin Weaver outran Steve Sheppard Jr. to claim the heat three victory. Heat race four featured eventual winner Moyer claiming the win from the pole over Ryan Unzicker who stole second from Billy Frye on the last lap.

Jason Feger captured the night’s B-Main with Joe Harlan finishing second to claim the two transfer spots into the night’s A-Main. Provisionals were taken by Scott James, Eric Smith, and defending track champion Daren Friedman

For more information on the UMP DIRTcar Summer Nationals Tour fans can visit
Fans can now receive news, updates and other behind-the-scenes information about the UMP DIRTcar Summer Nationals by following the tour’s official feed on Twitter, the internet’s fast-growing social-networking and micro-blogging website.

Fans can view the latest text posts and subscribe as “followers” of the Summer Nationals at .
2009 UMP DIRTcar Summer Nationals Schedule
06/11/09 Brownstown Speedway – Brownstown, IN – $6,000 (Jeep VanWormer – 43)
06/12/09 Kankakee Motor Speedway – Kankakee,IL – $10,000 (Billy Moyer – 51)
06/13/09 Kamp Motor Speedway – Boswell, IN – $10,000 (Eric Smith – 44)
06/14/09 Quad City Raceway – East Moline, IL – $6,000 (Dennis Erb – 31)
06/16/09 Highland Speedway – Highland, IL – $6,000 (RAIN)
06/17/09 Belle-Clair Speedway – Belleville, IL – $6,000 (Dennis Erb – 47)
06/18/09 Charleston Speedway – Charleston, IL – $6,000 (RAIN)
06/19/09 Farmer City Raceway – Farmer City, IL – $10,000 (RAIN)
06/20/09 Clarksville Speedway – Clarksville, TN – $10,000 (Billy Moyer – 44)
06/21/09 Tri-State Speedway – Haubstadt, IN – $6,000 (Jeep Van Wormer – 43)
06/23/09 Charleston Speedway – Charleston, IL $6,000 (Rodney Melvin – 26)
06/24/09 Tri-City Speedway – Pontoon Beach, IL $6,000 (Jason Feger – 34)
06/25/09 Clay Hill Motorsports Park – Atwood, TN – $6,000 (Billy Moyer – 38)
06/26/09 Paducah International Raceway – Paducah, KY – $10,000 (Billy Moyer – 41)
06/27/09 Fairbury Speedway – Fairbury, IL – $10,000 (Billy Moyer – 34)
06/28/09 Lincoln Speedway – Lincoln, IL – $6,000
06/29/09 Farmer City Raceway – Farmer City,IL $6,000
06/30/09 Peoria Speedway – Peoria, IL – $6,000
07/01/09 Highland Speedway – Highland, IL – $6,000
07/02/09 Macon Speedway – Macon, IL – $6,000
07/03/09 Quincy Raceway – Quincy, IL – $10,000
07/04/09 I-55 Raceway – Pevely, MO – $10,000
07/05/09 Vermillion County Speedway – Danville, IL – $6,000
07/07/09 Shepp Speedway – Alexandria, IL – $6,000
07/08/09 Spoon River Speedway – Canton,IL $6,000
07/09/09 LaSalle Speedway – LaSalle, IL – $6,000
07/10/09 Waynesfield Motorsports Park – Waynesfield, OH – $10,000
07/11/09 Oakshade Raceway – Wauseon, OH – 10,000

The UMP DIRTcar Summer Nationals is brought to race fans by many important sponsors and partners, including: VP Racing Fuels, CJ Rayburn Race Cars, Hoosier Racing Tire, Quarter Master, Just Plugs, Special Olympics, Wrisco Aluminum, Eibach Springs, and Integra Racing Shocks.

No tags for this post.

You May Also Like

DIRTcar Late Models

DIRTcar Racing officials have issued a suspension and fine to Late Model driver Kyle Bronson for failing a tire test after competing in the...

DIRTcar Late Models

Nearly 50 of the best dirt Late Model drivers in the country gathered at Volusia Speedway Park for a tripleheader of DIRTcar Late Model...


MD3 is giving Rookie of the Year contenders with the World of Outlaws CASE Construction Equipment Late Models and DIRTcar Summer Nationals Late Models...


The DIRTcar Summer Nationals returns for its 39th installment with a five-week lineup of events in 2024. Late Models will contest a total of...