Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

UMP DIRTcar Summer Nationals Race 14: Erb Scores Third Tour Win at Famer City Raceway

Dennis Erb taking the victory at Farmer City Raceway!


Farmer City, IL — June 29, 2009 — Dennis Erb Jr. knows what it takes to win during the UMP DIRTcar Summer Nationals Tour. He proved it once again Monday night at Farmer City (Ill.) Raceway.

The two-time and defending “Hell Tour” champion from Carpentersville, Ill., used his outside front row starting spot to ease by another former champion in Shannon Babb in the early stages of the 40-lap main event. Erb was never challenged after he grasped the lead and went on to claim his third tour victory of the 2009 edition of the UMP DIRTcar Summer Nationals.

Babb, of Moweaqua, Ill., claimed his second straight runner up finish on the night after timing in quickest in group four qualifying as well as claiming the heat race four win.

Series points leader Randy Korte of Highland, Ill., finished in the third spot behind Babb to retain his championship lead over Erb.

Previous tour winner Eric Smith finished fourth ahead of Chatham, Ill., driver Brian Shirley who climbed from his ninth place starting spot to round out the top five.

Heat 1
1. Dennis Erb
2. Jason Feger
3. Brian Shirley
4. Bill Frye
5. Rusty Schlenk
6. Jeep Van Wormer
7. Richie Hedrick
8. Jimmy Dehm
9. Russ Adams

Heat 2
1. Shannon Babb
2. Eric Smith
3. Wes Steidinger
4. Kevin Weaver
5. Tim Lance
6. Frank Heckenast
7. Joe Harlan
8. Scott Schmitt

Heat 3
1. Randy Korte
2. Scott Bull
3. Ryan Unzicker
4. Terry Casey
5. Jon Rogers
6. Daren Friedman
7. Shane Allen
8. Brandon Sheppard

Heat 4
1. Kyle Logue
2. Steve Sheppard
3. Donnie Walden
4. Rodney Melvin
5. Duane Chamberlin
6. Derek Chandler
7. Cruz Pedregon
8. Rich Bell

B Main
1. Frank Heckenast
2. Duane Chamberlin
3. Jeep Van Wormer
4. Derek Chandler
5. Joe Harlan
6. Shane Allen
7. Rusty Schlenk
8. Brandon Sheppard
9. Jimmy Dehm
10. Cruz Pedregon
11. Scott Schmitt
12. Russ Adams

1. Dennis Erb
2. Shannon Babb
3. Randy Korte
4. Eric Smith
5. Brian Shirley
6. Jason Feger
7. Scott Bull
8. Bill Frye
9. Wes Steidinger
10. Duane Chamberlin
11. Kyle Logue
12. Ryan Unzicker
13. Terry Casey
14. Frank Heckenast
15. Donnie Walden
16. Rusty Schlenk
17. Steve Sheppard
18. Jeep Van Wormer
19. Kevin Weaver
20. Rodney Melvin
21. Daren Friedman


34 UMP DIRTcar Late Models arrived at the Farmer City (Ill.) Raceway grounds to take their shot at the $6,000-to-win top prize. Drivers were separated into four groups via pill draw for qualifying and heat race purpose.

Quick time honors went to eventual winner Dennis Erb Jr. as well as two-time UMP DIRTcar Summer Nationals champion Shannon Babb. A father-son duo rounded out drivers capturing group fast time awards as son Brandon and father Steve Sheppard Jr. claimed quick time in groups three and four.

Erb and Babb also went on to claim their heat race win on the night while current points leader Korte, claimed heat race three and Kyle Logue captured heat race four.

Frank Heckenast Jr. claimed the night’s B-Main followed by Duane Chamberlain with both earning transfer spots into the 40-lap main event. Provisionals were used by Jeep Van Wormer, Rusty Schlenk, and Daren Friedman.

For more information on the UMP DIRTcar Summer Nationals Tour fans can visit

Fans can now receive news, updates and other behind-the-scenes information about the UMP DIRTcar Summer Nationals by following the tour’s official feed on Twitter, the internet’s fast-growing social-networking and micro-blogging website.

Fans can view the latest text posts and subscribe as “followers” of the Summer Nationals at .

2009 UMP DIRTcar Summer Nationals Schedule


Brownstown Speedway – Brownstown, IN – $6,000 (Jeep VanWormer – 43)

Kankakee Motor Speedway – Kankakee,IL – $10,000 (Billy Moyer – 51)

Kamp Motor Speedway – Boswell, IN – $10,000 (Eric Smith – 44)

Quad City Raceway – East Moline, IL – $6,000 (Dennis Erb – 31)

Highland Speedway – Highland, IL – $6,000 (RAIN)

Belle-Clair Speedway – Belleville, IL – $6,000 (Dennis Erb – 47)

Charleston Speedway – Charleston, IL – $6,000 (RAIN)

Farmer City Raceway – Farmer City, IL – $10,000 (RAIN)

Clarksville Speedway – Clarksville, TN – $10,000 (Billy Moyer – 44)

Tri-State Speedway – Haubstadt, IN – $6,000 (Jeep Van Wormer – 43)

Charleston Speedway – Charleston, IL $6,000 (Rodney Melvin – 26)

Tri-City Speedway – Pontoon Beach, IL $6,000 (Jason Feger – 34)

Clay Hill Motorsports Park – Atwood, TN – $6,000 (Billy Moyer – 38)

Paducah International Raceway – Paducah, KY – $10,000 (Billy Moyer – 41)

Fairbury Speedway – Fairbury, IL – $10,000 (Billy Moyer – 34)

Lincoln Speedway – Lincoln, IL – $6,000 (Randy Korte – 35)

Farmer City Raceway – Farmer City,IL $6,000 (Dennis Erb Jr. – 34)

Peoria Speedway – Peoria, IL – $6,000

Highland Speedway – Highland, IL – $6,000

Macon Speedway – Macon, IL – $6,000

Quincy Raceway – Quincy, IL – $10,000

I-55 Raceway – Pevely, MO – $10,000

Vermillion County Speedway – Danville, IL – $6,000

Shepp Speedway – Alexandria, IL – $6,000

Spoon River Speedway – Canton,IL $6,000

La Salle Speedway – La Salle, IL – $6,000

Waynesfield Motorsports Park – Waynesfield, OH – $10,000

Oakshade Raceway – Wauseon, OH – 10,000

The UMP DIRTcar Summer Nationals is brought to race fans by many important sponsors and partners, including: VP Racing Fuels, CJ Rayburn Race Cars, Hoosier Racing Tire, Quarter Master, Just Plugs, Special Olympics, Wrisco Aluminum, Eibach Springs, and Integra Racing Shocks.

No tags for this post.

You May Also Like

DIRTcar Late Models

DIRTcar Racing officials have issued a suspension and fine to Late Model driver Kyle Bronson for failing a tire test after competing in the...

DIRTcar Late Models

Nearly 50 of the best dirt Late Model drivers in the country gathered at Volusia Speedway Park for a tripleheader of DIRTcar Late Model...


MD3 is giving Rookie of the Year contenders with the World of Outlaws CASE Construction Equipment Late Models and DIRTcar Summer Nationals Late Models...


The DIRTcar Summer Nationals returns for its 39th installment with a five-week lineup of events in 2024. Late Models will contest a total of...