Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

UMP DIRTcar Summer Nationals Race 15: Feger Rim Rides to Peoria Win

DIRTcar Summer NationalsPeoria, IL — June 29, 2009 — Everyone in the packed grandstands at Peoria (Ill.), Speedway knew where Jason Feger was headed when the green flag flew Tuesday Night for the 40-lap “Hell Tour” main event.

That didn’t stop the 31-year-old Bloomington, Ill., driver from executing his game plan precisely as he drove around the extreme outside of the banked quarter-mile oval to his second UMP DIRTcar Summer Nationals Victory.

“I’m actually more comfortable up there,” said Feger of the line he ran. “I get nervous when I have to slow down and run the bottom around the tires.”

Feger, the owner of multiple wins in the UMP Sportsman division at Peoria, captured his first ever Late Model victory at the track, which is a mere 35 miles from his hometown.

“It feels really good to win here,” he said. “We have a big fan base here and it’s always been a great track that packs the stands.”

2008 Peoria Speedway Summer Nationals winner Jeep Van Wormer settled for a runner-up finish.

“I wanted to run the middle initially,” remarked Van Wormer. “That’s where I won it last year, but there was just too much dust.”

Van Wormer of Pinconning, Mich., searched high and low to find a way around Feger late but a bobble on the cushion in the waning laps sealed his fate.

“Jason had a great car,” conceded Van Wormer. “I can’t say enough about those guys, they’re a great group of guys.”

Early leader Kevin Weaver of Gibson City, Ill., came to the checkered flag third after battling with Feger for the lead for the first half of the 40-lap main event.

“Peoria is usually known to run the bottom but it was a little bit different this year,” said Weaver of the line he held throughout the event. “We made a little mistake on an adjustment so we’ll just try and not forget that next time.”

Orland Park, Ill., driver Frank Heckenast and current UMP DIRTcar Summer National point leader Randy Korte of Highland, Ill., rounded out the top five.

Jason Feger


Heat 1
1. Rodney Melvin
2. Shannon Babb
3. Dennis Erb
4. Donny Walden
5. Ryan Unzicker
6. Brandon Sheppard
7. Eric Smith
8. Tommy Duncan
9. Shane Allen
10. Bob Gardner

Heat 2
1. Kevin Weaver
2. Wes Steidinger
3. Todd Bennett
4. Steve Sheppard
5. Jon Rogers
6. Brian Crebo
7. Steve Smith
8. Rich Bell
9. Bill Kertering
DNS. Scott Schmitt

Heat 3
1. Jason Feger
2. Randy Korte
3. Tim Lance
4. Terry Casey
5. Charley Hess
6. Rusty Schlenk
7. Duane Chamberlin
8. Kyle Logue
9. Derek Chandler
10. Jason Jaggers

Heat 4
1. Jeep Van Wormer
2. Frank Heckenast
3. Brian Harris
4. Daren Friedman
5. Jimmy Dehm
6. John Gardner, Jr.
7. Russ Adams
8. Terry Babb
9. Jason Weyeneth

C Main
1. Kyle Logue
2. Rich Bell
3. Tommy Duncan
4. Derek Chandler
5. Shane Allen
6. Terry Babb
7. Jason Weyeneth
8. Bob Gardner
9. Jason Jaggers
10. Bill Kettering

B Main
1. Ryan Unzicker
2. Brandon Sheppard
3. Eric Smith
4. Charley Hess
5. Kyle Logue
6. Scott Schmitt
7. Jimmy Dehm
8. Jon Rogers
9. Tommy Duncan
10. Rich Bell
11. Derek Chandler
12. Bob Gardner
13. Russ Adams

1. Jason Feger
2. Jeep Van Wormer
3. Kevin Weaver
4. Frank Heckenast
5. Randy Korte
6. Rodney Melvin
7. Dennis Erb
8. Ryan Unzicker
9. Todd Bennett
10. Donny Walden
11. Duane Chamberlin
12. Brandon Sheppard
13. Tim Lance
14. Charley Hess
15. Daren Friedman
16. Terry Casey
17. Steve Sheppard
18. Rusty Schlenk
19. Shannon Babb
20. Wes Steidinger
21. Brian Harris

Shannon Babb blasted around the new Peoria surface setting a new track record among 39 other UMP DIRTcar Late Model competitors at Peoria (Ill.) Speedway. Babb’s lap was 12.119 seconds beat the previous record by .29 seconds. Other quick time honors went to Wes Steidinger, Terry Cassey, and Jeep Van Wormer.

Heat race action saw Rodney Melvin from Logan, (Ill.) hound Babb early on eventually sliding in front of the newly crowned track record holder out of turn four to take a heat race one victory. Kevin Weaver led every lap in route to a heat two win and subsequently drew the pole for the 40-lap main event.

Eventual winner Feger showed signs of what was to come in heat race three as he used the top-side of the banked oval to motor around Terry Casey and Randy Korte to claim heat race three while Jeep Van Wormer got a great jump in heat race four and never looked back in route to the win.

The night’s C-Main saw Kyle Logue, a heat race winner the night prior, take the win while Ryan Unzicker won the night’s B-Main with Brandon Sheppard finishing in the final transfer spot, a close second. Provisionals were used by Duane Chamberlain, Rusty Schlenk, and local Charlie Hess.

For more information on the UMP DIRTcar Summer Nationals Tour fans can visit

Fans can now receive news, updates and other behind-the-scenes information about the UMP DIRTcar Summer Nationals by following the tour’s official feed on Twitter, the internet’s fast-growing social-networking and micro-blogging website.

Fans can view the latest text posts and subscribe as “followers” of the Summer Nationals at .

2009 UMP DIRTcar Summer Nationals Schedule
06/11/09 Brownstown Speedway – Brownstown, IN – $6,000 (Jeep VanWormer – 43)
06/12/09 Kankakee Motor Speedway – Kankakee,IL – $10,000 (Billy Moyer – 51)
06/13/09 Kamp Motor Speedway – Boswell, IN – $10,000 (Eric Smith – 44)
06/14/09 Quad City Raceway – East Moline, IL – $6,000 (Dennis Erb – 31)
06/16/09 Highland Speedway – Highland, IL – $6,000 (RAIN)
06/17/09 Belle-Clair Speedway – Belleville, IL – $6,000 (Dennis Erb – 47)
06/18/09 Charleston Speedway – Charleston, IL – $6,000 (RAIN)
06/19/09 Farmer City Raceway – Farmer City, IL – $10,000 (RAIN)
06/20/09 Clarksville Speedway – Clarksville, TN – $10,000 (Billy Moyer – 44)
06/21/09 Tri-State Speedway – Haubstadt, IN – $6,000 (Jeep Van Wormer – 43)
06/23/09 Charleston Speedway – Charleston, IL $6,000 (Rodney Melvin – 26)
06/24/09 Tri-City Speedway – Pontoon Beach, IL $6,000 (Jason Feger – 34)
06/25/09 Clay Hill Motorsports Park – Atwood, TN – $6,000 (Billy Moyer – 38)
06/26/09 Paducah International Raceway – Paducah, KY – $10,000 (Billy Moyer – 41)
06/27/09 Fairbury Speedway – Fairbury, IL – $10,000 (Billy Moyer – 34)
06/28/09 Lincoln Speedway – Lincoln, IL – $6,000 (Randy Korte – 35)
06/29/09 Farmer City Raceway – Farmer City,IL $6,000 (Dennis Erb Jr. – 34)
06/30/09 Peoria Speedway – Peoria, IL – $6,000 (Jason Feger – 39)
07/01/09 Highland Speedway – Highland, IL – $6,000
07/02/09 Macon Speedway – Macon, IL – $6,000
07/03/09 Quincy Raceway – Quincy, IL – $10,000
07/04/09 I-55 Raceway – Pevely, MO – $10,000
07/05/09 Vermillion County Speedway – Danville, IL – $6,000
07/07/09 Shepp Speedway – Alexandria, IL – $6,000
07/08/09 Spoon River Speedway – Canton,IL $6,000
07/09/09 La Salle Speedway – La Salle, IL – $6,000
07/10/09 Waynesfield Motorsports Park – Waynesfield, OH – $10,000
07/11/09 Oakshade Raceway – Wauseon, OH – 10,000

The UMP DIRTcar Summer Nationals is brought to race fans by many important sponsors and partners, including: VP Racing Fuels, CJ Rayburn Race Cars, Hoosier Racing Tire, Quarter Master, Just Plugs, Special Olympics, Wrisco Aluminum, Eibach Springs, and Integra Racing Shocks

No tags for this post.

You May Also Like


The DIRTcar Summer Nationals returns for its 39th installment with a five-week lineup of events in 2024. Late Models will contest a total of...


Forty years of weekly DIRTcar Racing is now in the history books. The 28th edition of DIRTcar’s year-end special event concluded appropriately Saturday night...


DIRTcar’s brightest weekly racing stars came out for opening night of the 28th annual DIRTcar Fall Nationals and put on four great shows Friday...


Racing begins Friday; gates open at 4pm, Hot Laps at 6pm A warm Thursday evening at Lincoln Speedway provided a strong playground for 40...