Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

UMP DIRTcar Summer Nationals Race 17: Babb Slides to Macon Summer Nationals Victory

Shannon Babb


UMP DIRTcar Summer Nationals Race 17: Babb Slides to Macon Summer Nationals Victory

Macon, IL — July 2, 2009 —Using a turn three slide job on the 19th lap of the Herald and Review 100 Shannon Babb of nearby Moweaqua, Ill. claimed his first UMP DIRTcar Summer Nationals victory of 2009.

Babb, who owns two “Hell Tour” championships, never looked back leading over the course of the next 81 laps to take the win.

” It means a lot to win here on a night where there was definitely good racing,” said Babb. “We’ve had a lot of bad luck, because I’ve slipped through so many easy spots all these years I seem to be getting paid back this year.”

Babb, who had won a previous Herald and Review 100 at Macon, (Ill.) Speedway in 2006, found openings at the right time allowing him to distance himself as early as he could in the 100-lapper. “The track was perfect and everyone gave me room to roll around,” said Babb.

Brian Shirley of Chatham, Ill., started fourth, just ahead of eventual winner Babb, and found the high groove to his liking while working his way into second by a lap 17 caution. Shirley unfortunately couldn’t muster enough to challenge Babb late in the going. “Shannon would have had to mess up,” he said. “I was just going to ride around there with him and come home second but, all and all it was a good night.”

Logan, Ill., native Rodney Melvin held off multiple drivers in route to capturing a third place finish after leading early on in the 100-lap event. “All and all we had a good run,” said Melvin.

Melvin, who got his first top five finish since June 25th at Clay Hill Motorsports Park, believes he may have solved his recent troubles.

“I found out the last two nights that we shouldn’t work on our racecar,” he said. “Just put tires on the car and go race it.”

Defending champion Dennis Erb Jr. of Carpentersville, Ill., sliced through the field after using a provisional to start 19th, while a current series point leader Randy Korte, of Highland, Ill. completed a similar quest charging from 17th to round out the top five.

Heat 1:
1. Brandon Sheppard
2. Steve Sheppard Jr.
3. Jason Feger
4. Jason Cleaver
5. Terry Babb
6. Wes Steidinger
7. Don Cisco
8. Rick Standridge
9. Ryan Unzicker

Heat 2:
1. Rodney Melvin
2. Shannon Babb
3. Mark Voigt
4. Roger Brickler
5. Scott Schmitt
6. Dennis Erb Jr.
7. John Beck
8. Derek Chandler
9. Kenny Carmichael Jr.

Heat 3:
1. Tim Lance
2. Rusty Schlenk
3. Kyle Logue
4. Russ Adams
5. Dennis Vandermeersch
6. Mike Hammerle
7. Chris Dick
8. Bryant Dickinson

Heat 4:
1. Brian Shirley
2. Jayme Zidar
3. Kevin Weaver
4. Donny Walden
5. Randy Korte
6. Paul Bailey
7. Richie Hedrick
8. Mike Durbin Jr.

B Main:
1. Randy Korte
2. Terry Babb
3. Dennis Erb Jr.
4. Richie Hedrick
5. Rick Standridge
6. Scott Schmitt
7. Ryan Unzicker
8. Derek Chandler
9. John Beck
10. Dennis Vandermeersch
11. Bryant Dickinson

1. Shannon Babb
2. Brian Shirley
3. Rodney Melvin
4. Dennis Erb Jr.
5. Randy Korte
6. Kevin Weaver
7. Jason Feger
8. Wes Steidinger
9. Steve Sheppard Jr.
10. Jayme Zidar
11. Donny Walden
12. Terry Babb
13. Kyle Logue
14. Brandon Sheppard
15. Rusty Schlenk
16. Tim Lance
17. Roger Brickler
18. Russ Adams
19. Jason Cleaver
20. Mark Voigt
21. Chris Dick


Shannon Babb blazed through the fifth-mile oval in qualifying time trials reeling off a lap of 10.406 seconds which was less than a tenth of a second off the Macon Speedway track record. Other quick time honors went to Steve Sheppard Jr. of New Berlin, Ill., Tim Lance of Brimfield, Ill., and Brian Shirley of Chatham, Ill.

Heat race one saw a father and son duo pace the field on from the front row in Steve and Brandon Sheppard. Brandon Sheppard got the jump early on his father and claimed the heat win. Heat race two saw Rodney Melvin and Shannon Babb duel each other early with Melvin eventually getting the win.

Tim Lance claimed heat race three by grabbing the lead early over Rusty Schlenk of Jackson, Mich., and never looking back. Brian Shirley won the fourth and final heat race over Jayme Zidar of Greenfield, Wisc., a heat that saw racing all over the track between the top five cars.

Current UMP DIRTcar Summer Nationals point leader Randy Korte of Highland, Ill. won the night’s B-Main followed to the line by Terry Babb who held off a charging Dennis Erb Jr. Erb would use a provisional along with Wes Steidinger of Fairbury, Ill. and Chris Dick of Deland, Ill.

For more information on the UMP DIRTcar Summer Nationals Tour fans can visit

Fans can now receive news, updates and other behind-the-scenes information about the UMP DIRTcar Summer Nationals by following the tour’s official feed on Twitter, the internet’s fast-growing social-networking and micro-blogging website.

Fans can view the latest text posts and subscribe as “followers” of the Summer Nationals at .

2009 UMP DIRTcar Summer Nationals Schedule
06/11/09 Brownstown Speedway – Brownstown, IN – $6,000 (Jeep VanWormer – 43)
06/12/09 Kankakee Motor Speedway – Kankakee,IL – $10,000 (Billy Moyer – 51)
06/13/09 Kamp Motor Speedway – Boswell, IN – $10,000 (Eric Smith – 44)
06/14/09 Quad City Raceway – East Moline, IL – $6,000 (Dennis Erb – 31)
06/16/09 Highland Speedway – Highland, IL – $6,000 (RAIN)
06/17/09 Belle-Clair Speedway – Belleville, IL – $6,000 (Dennis Erb – 47)
06/18/09 Charleston Speedway – Charleston, IL – $6,000 (RAIN)
06/19/09 Farmer City Raceway – Farmer City, IL – $10,000 (RAIN)
06/20/09 Clarksville Speedway – Clarksville, TN – $10,000 (Billy Moyer – 44)
06/21/09 Tri-State Speedway – Haubstadt, IN – $6,000 (Jeep Van Wormer – 43)
06/23/09 Charleston Speedway – Charleston, IL $6,000 (Rodney Melvin – 26)
06/24/09 Tri-City Speedway – Pontoon Beach, IL $6,000 (Jason Feger – 34)
06/25/09 Clay Hill Motorsports Park – Atwood, TN – $6,000 (Billy Moyer – 38)
06/26/09 Paducah International Raceway – Paducah, KY – $10,000 (Billy Moyer – 41)
06/27/09 Fairbury Speedway – Fairbury, IL – $10,000 (Billy Moyer – 34)
06/28/09 Lincoln Speedway – Lincoln, IL – $6,000 (Randy Korte – 35)
06/29/09 Farmer City Raceway – Farmer City,IL $6,000 (Dennis Erb Jr. – 34)
06/30/09 Peoria Speedway – Peoria, IL – $6,000 (Jason Feger – 39)
07/01/09 Highland Speedway – Highland, IL – $6,000 (Jeep Van Wormer – 39)
07/02/09 Macon Speedway – Macon, IL – $6,000 (Shannon Babb – 34)
07/03/09 Quincy Raceway – Quincy, IL – $10,000
07/04/09 I-55 Raceway – Pevely, MO – $10,000
07/05/09 Vermillion County Speedway – Danville, IL – $6,000
07/07/09 Shepp Speedway – Alexandria, IL – $6,000
07/08/09 Spoon River Speedway – Canton,IL $6,000
07/09/09 La Salle Speedway – La Salle, IL – $6,000
07/10/09 Waynesfield Motorsports Park – Waynesfield, OH – $10,000
07/11/09 Oakshade Raceway – Wauseon, OH – 10,000

The UMP DIRTcar Summer Nationals is brought to race fans by many important sponsors and partners, including: VP Racing Fuels, CJ Rayburn Race Cars, Hoosier Racing Tire, Quarter Master, Just Plugs, Special Olympics, Wrisco Aluminum, Eibach Springs, and Integra Racing Shocks.

No tags for this post.

You May Also Like


In his first race out on the DIRTcar Summer Nationals in 2024, Tyler Erb made a clear statement to his competition Wednesday night –...


The DIRTcar Summer Nationals returns for its 39th installment with a five-week lineup of events in 2024. Late Models will contest a total of...


Forty years of weekly DIRTcar Racing is now in the history books. The 28th edition of DIRTcar’s year-end special event concluded appropriately Saturday night...


DIRTcar’s brightest weekly racing stars came out for opening night of the 28th annual DIRTcar Fall Nationals and put on four great shows Friday...