Unzicker Earns DIRTcar Summer Nationals ‘Hell Tour’ Victory at Fairbury American Legion Speedway

DIRTcar Summer NationalsFAIRBURY, Ill. — June 22, 2013 — At one of the biggest events all year at his home track of Fairbury American Legion Speedway, Ryan Unzicker scored his first win of the 2013 DIRTcar Summer Nationals “Hell Tour” in exciting fashion on Saturday night.

With 46 cars were in attendance, Unzicker, of El Paso, Ill., was the man to beat. Starting fourth in the 50-lap main event, Unzicker utilized the inside line to do the majority of his passing. At the halfway point he had only managed to reach the third position, but two laps later he hooked up with Brian Birkhofer and moved to second after passing race-long leader Kevin Weaver. Another 10 laps after reaching second, Unzicker managed to maneuver around a fading Birkhofer for the $10,000 checkered flag, his fifth “Hell Tour” victory of his career.

Unzicker, a former DIRTcar Late Model national champion, becomes the sixth different winner in seven DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour events this season. Only points leader Brandon Sheppard has more than one victory.

(Click here for news and information on the DIRTcar Summer Nationals.)

Birkhofer, Sheppard and Jimmy Mars rounded out the top five.

Heat race winners included Weaver, Daren Friedman and Unzicker.

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour continues on Sunday night at I-96 Speedway in Lake Odessa, Mich.

DIRTcar Summer Nationals Statistical Report; Fairbury (Ill.) Speedway: June 22, 2013

A-Main (50-laps): 1. Ryan Unzicker ($10,000), 2. Brian Birkhofer, 3. Brandon Sheppard, 4. Jimmy Mars, 5. Kevin Weaver, 6. Brian Shirley, 7. Joe Harlan, 8. Bobby Pierce, 9. Shannon Babb, 10. Chris Simpson, 11. Brady Smith, 12. Daren Friedman, 13. Randy Korte, 14. Dustin Griffin, 15. Frank Heckenast Jr, 16. Tim Lance, 17. Scott Schmitt, 18. Jason McBride, 19. Daniel Fiessner, 20. Tyler Reddick, 21. Scott Bull, 22. Derek Chandler, 23. Jason Krohn.

2013 DIRTcar Summer Nationals ‘Hell Tour’ Schedule

Day Date Track Location Winner
Wed. June 12 Brownstown Speedway Brownstown, IN Dennis Erb, Jr.
Thurs. June 13 Off
Fri. June 14 Cedar Lake Speedway New Richmond, WI Brian Birkhofer
Sat. June 15 Cedar Lake Speedway New Richmond, WI Cancelled (RAIN)
Sun. June 16 Wilmot Speedway Wilmot, WI Kevin Weaver
Mon. June 17 Off
Tues. June 18 Off
Wed. June 19 Spoon River Speedway Canton, IL Brandon Sheppard
Thurs. June 20 Belle Clair Speedway Belleville, IL Brandon Sheppard
Fri. June 21 Tri-City Speedway Pontoon Beach, IL Chris Simpson
Sat. June 22 Fairbury Speedway Fairbury, IL Ryan Unzicker
Sun. June 23 I-96 Speedway Lake Odessa, MI
Mon. June 24 Peoria Speedway Peoria, IL
Tues. June 25 Off
Wed. June 26 Clarksville Speedway Clarksville, TN
Thurs. June 27 Clayhill Motorsports Park Atwood, TN
Fri. June 28 Paducah International Raceway Paducah, KY
Sat. June 29 Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55 Pevely, MO
Sun. June 30 Lincoln Speedway Lincoln, IL
Mon. July 1 Off
Tues. July 2 Quincy Raceways Quincy, IL
Wed. July 3 Jacksonville Speedway Jacksonville, IL
Thurs. July 4 LaSalle Speedway LaSalle, IL
Fri. July 5 Fayette Co. Speedway Brownstown, IL
Sat. July 6 Highland Speedway Highland, IL
Sun. July 7 Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, IN
Mon. July 8 Off
Tues. July 9 Florence Speedway Union, KY
Wed. July 10 Terre Haute Action Track Terre Haute, IN
Thurs. July 11 Macon Speedway Macon, IL
Fri. July 12 Kankakee County Speedway Kankakee, IL
Sat. July 13 34 Raceway Burlington, IA
Sun. July 14 Vermilion County Speedway Danville, IL
Mon. July 15 Off
Tues. July 16 Off
Wed. July 17 Brushcreek Motorsports Park Peebles, OH
Thurs. July 18 Twin Cities Raceway Park North Vernon, IN
Fri. July 19 Attica Raceway Park Attica, OH
Sat. July 20 Oakshade Raceway Wauseon, OH

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals “Hell Tour” is brought to fans across the country by many important partners including: Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Company), Hoosier Racing Tires (Official Racing Tires), Racing Electonics (Official Communication), Vicci (Official Uniform), VP Racing Fuel (Official Racing Fuel); in addition to these fine Contingency Sponsors: Beyea Headers, Butlerbuilt, Cometic Gasket, Comp Cams, Dominator Race Products, Edelbrock, Chevy Performance Parts, Integra Shocks, Intercomp, JE Pistons, JRI Shocks, Klotz Lubricants, MSD Performance, Petroff Towing, Quartermaster, Superflow Dynos, UNOH (University of Northwestern Ohio), and Wrisco Aluminum.