Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Unzicker Scores Second DIRTcar Summer Nationals ‘Hell Tour’ Victory at Fayette County Speedway

DIRTcar Summer NationalsBROWNSTOWN, Ill. – July 5, 2013 – Ryan Unzicker charged to the lead at the drop of the green flag Friday night at Fayette County Speedway, then held off red-hot Shannon Babb on a restart with nine laps to go en route to scoring his second win of the 2013 DIRTcar Summer Nationals “Hell Tour” season.

Unzicker, of El Paso, Ill., started the 40-lap feature from the outside of the front row, next to pole-sitter and winner of the previous night, Bobby Pierce. Unzicker worked his car on the outside groove from the start to give himself to an early lead. Unzicker was running away before a late-race caution brought the field, and most notably Babb, back to his bumper. Babb made Unzicker earn his money, but Unzicker stuck to his line and turned back the challenge to earn his second win and cash the $5,000 paycheck at Fayette County Speedway.

“Everybody knows we like the bottom, but we set up for the top tonight,” said Unzicker, who also claimed the victory at Fairbury American Legion Speedway earlier in the six-week tour. “It seemed like the top was the favorable spot all night long. We just kept the car where it needed to be and hit the right marks. We definitely hit the setup, that thing was rolling tonight.”

(Click here for news and information on the DIRTcar Summer Nationals.)

Tyler Reddick, Brian Shirley and Bobby Pierce rounded out the top five.

Heat race winners included Tyler Reddick, Ryan Unzicker, Bobby Pierce and Shannon Babb.

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour continues on Saturday night at Highland Speedway located in Highland, Illinois.


SCHEDULE UPDATES – The DIRTcar Summer Nationals event originally scheduled June 24 at Peoria Speedway that was lost to rain has been rescheduled for Monday, July 15. The event scheduled for July 18 at Twin Cities Raceway Park in North Vernon, Ind., has been cancelled.

DIRTcar Summer Nationals Statistical Report; Fayette County Speedway; Brownstown, Ill.: July 5, 2013

A-Main (40-laps): 1. Ryan Unzicker ($5,000), 2. Shannon Babb, 3. Tyler Reddick, 4. Brian Shirley, 5. Bobby Pierce, 6. Kevin Weaver, 7. Brandon Sheppard, 8. Randy Korte, 9. Mark Burgtorf, 10. Kent Robinson, 11. Tanner English, 12. Jason McBride, 13. Michael Kloos, 14. MCKay Wenger, 15. Dustin Griffin, 16. Tim Lance, 17. Rodney Melvin, 18. Kevin Cole, 19. Chad Zobrist, 20. Austin Rettig, 21. Mark Voigt, 22. Terry English.

DIRTcar Summer Nationals Top 10

Pos. Car Name Points
1 B5 Brandon Sheppard 1048
2 32 Bobby Pierce 983
3 24 Ryan Unzicker 980
4 18 Shannon Babb 961
5 11 Tyler Reddick 781
6 81 Randy Korte 746
7 20 Dustin Griffin 718
8 B12 Kevin Weaver 716
9 77 Jason McBride 710
10 48 Tim Lance 527

2013 DIRTcar Summer Nationals ‘Hell Tour’ Schedule

Day Date Track Location Winner
Wed. June 12 Brownstown Speedway Brownstown, IN Dennis Erb, Jr.
Thurs. June 13 Off
Fri. June 14 Cedar Lake Speedway New Richmond, WI Brian Birkhofer
Sat. June 15 Cedar Lake Speedway New Richmond, WI Cancelled (RAIN)
Sun. June 16 Wilmot Speedway Wilmot, WI Kevin Weaver
Mon. June 17 Off
Tues. June 18 Off
Wed. June 19 Spoon River Speedway Canton, IL Brandon Sheppard
Thurs. June 20 Belle Clair Speedway Belleville, IL Brandon Sheppard (2)
Fri. June 21 Tri-City Speedway Pontoon Beach, IL Chris Simpson
Sat. June 22 Fairbury Speedway Fairbury, IL Ryan Unzicker
Sun. June 23 I-96 Speedway Lake Odessa, MI Shannon Babb
Mon. June 24 Peoria Speedway Peoria, IL PPD/Rain July 15
Tues. June 25 Off
Wed. June 26 Clarksville Speedway Clarksville, TN Brandon Sheppard (3)
Thurs. June 27 Clayhill Motorsports Park Atwood, TN Brandon Sheppard (4)
Fri. June 28 Paducah International Raceway Paducah, KY Billy Moyer
Sat. June 29 Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55 Pevely, MO Postponed/Rain
Sun. June 30 Lincoln Speedway Lincoln, IL Bobby Pierce
Mon. July 1 Off
Tues. July 2 Quincy Raceways Quincy, IL Shannon Babb (2)
Wed. July 3 Jacksonville Speedway Jacksonville, IL Shannon Babb (3)
Thurs. July 4 LaSalle Speedway LaSalle, IL Bobby Pierce (2)
Fri. July 5 Fayette Co. Speedway Brownstown, IL Ryan Unzicker (2)
Sat. July 6 Highland Speedway Highland, IL
Sun. July 7 Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, IN
Mon. July 8 Off
Tues. July 9 Florence Speedway Union, KY
Wed. July 10 Terre Haute Action Track Terre Haute, IN
Thurs. July 11 Macon Speedway Macon, IL
Fri. July 12 Kankakee County Speedway Kankakee, IL
Sat. July 13 34 Raceway Burlington, IA
Sun. July 14 Vermilion County Speedway Danville, IL
Mon. July 15 Peoria Speedway Peoria, IL
Tues. July 16 Off
Wed. July 17 Brushcreek Motorsports Park Peebles, OH
Thurs. July 18 Off
Fri. July 19 Attica Raceway Park Attica, OH
Sat. July 20 Oakshade Raceway Wauseon, OH

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals “Hell Tour” is brought to fans across the country by many important partners including: Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Company), Hoosier Racing Tires (Official Racing Tires), Racing Electonics (Official Communication), Vicci (Official Uniform), VP Racing Fuel (Official Racing Fuel); in addition to these fine Contingency Sponsors: Beyea Headers, Butlerbuilt, Cometic Gasket, Comp Cams, Dominator Race Products, Edelbrock, Chevy Performance Parts, Integra Shocks, Intercomp, JE Pistons, JRI Shocks, Klotz Lubricants, MSD Performance, Petroff Towing, Quartermaster, Superflow Dynos, UNOH (University of Northwestern Ohio), and Wrisco Aluminum. 

No tags for this post.

You May Also Like

DIRTcar Late Models

Nearly 50 of the best dirt Late Model drivers in the country gathered at Volusia Speedway Park for a tripleheader of DIRTcar Late Model...


MD3 is giving Rookie of the Year contenders with the World of Outlaws CASE Construction Equipment Late Models and DIRTcar Summer Nationals Late Models...


The DIRTcar Summer Nationals returns for its 39th installment with a five-week lineup of events in 2024. Late Models will contest a total of...


VP Racing Fuels, Inc. has extended its partnership with the World of Outlaws and DIRTcar Racing in a multi-year deal to continue as the...