Weaver Powers to DIRTcar Summer Nationals Win at Wilmot

SummerNationals WILMOT, Wis. — June 16, 2013 — After breaking a driveshaft while leading two nights earlier, Kevin Weaver bounced back in a big way on Sunday night by capturing his first DIRTcar Summer Nationals “Hell Tour” victory in five seasons at Wilmot Raceway.

Weaver, of Gibson City, Ill., started outside of the first row in his Jimmy John’s-sponsored car and was definitely “freaky fast” on the high side the majority of the night en route to capturing the $5,000 checkered flag. Weaver held off pole sitter Brandon Sheppard, giving Sheppard his second consecutive runner-up finish.

“It was just an awesome car and an awesome race for me tonight,” said Weaver, the 2000 DIRTcar Summer Nationals champion.

(Click here for news and information on the DIRTcar Summer Nationals.)

Brian Birkhofer, Shannon Babb and Ryan Unzicker rounded out the top five.

Heat race winners included Brian Birkhofer, Brandon Sheppard and Kevin Weaver.

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour continues on Wednesday at Spoon River Speedway in Canton, Ill.


DIRTcar Summer Nationals Statistical Report; Wilmot (Wis.) Raceway; June 16, 2013

A-Main (40-laps): 1. Kevin Weaver ($5,000), 2. Brandon Sheppard, 3. Brian Birkhofer, 4. Shannon Babb, 5. Ryan Unzicker, 6. Jason McBride, 7. Bobby Pierce, 8. Tyler Reddick, 9. Randy Korte, 10. Dustin Griffin, 11. Jason Jaggers, 12. Russ Scheffler, 13. Dan Shlieper, 14. Brad Mueller, 15. Tim Lance, 16. Chris Simpson, 17. Rich Bell, 18. Todd Frank, 19. Pete Parker, 20. Scott Schmitt.


2013 DIRTcar Summer Nationals ‘Hell Tour’ Schedule

Day Date Track


Wed. June 12 Brownstown Speedway Brownstown, IN

Dennis Erb, Jr.

Thurs. June 13 Off
Fri. June 14 Cedar Lake Speedway New Richmond, WI

Brian Birkhofer

Sat. June 15

Cedar Lake Speedway

New Richmond, WI

Cancelled (RAIN)

Sun. June 16

Wilmot Speedway

Wilmot, WI

Kevin Weaver

Mon. June 17


Tues. June 18


Wed. June 19

Spoon River Speedway

Canton, IL
Thurs. June 20

Belle Clair Speedway

Belleville, IL
Fri. June 21

Tri-City Speedway

Pontoon Beach, IL
Sat. June 22

Fairbury Speedway

Fairbury, IL
Sun. June 23

I-96 Speedway

Lake Odessa, MI
Mon. June 24

Peoria Speedway

Peoria, IL
Tues. June 25


Wed. June 26 Clarksville Speedway Clarksville, TN
Thurs. June 27 Clayhill Motorsports Park Atwood, TN
Fri. June 28 Paducah International Raceway Paducah, KY
Sat. June 29 Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55

Pevely, MO

Sun. June 30 Lincoln Speedway

Lincoln, IL

Mon. July 1 Off
Tues. July 2 Quincy Raceways Quincy, IL
Wed. July 3 Jacksonville Speedway Jacksonville, IL
Thurs. July 4 LaSalle Speedway

LaSalle, IL

Fri. July 5 Fayette Co. Speedway Brownstown, IL
Sat. July 6 Highland Speedway Highland, IL
Sun. July 7 Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, IN
Mon. July 8 Off
Tues. July 9 Florence Speedway Union, KY
Wed. July 10 Terre Haute Action Track Terre Haute, IN
Thurs. July 11 Macon Speedway Macon, IL
Fri. July 12 Kankakee County Speedway Kankakee, IL
Sat. July 13 34 Raceway Burlington, IA
Sun. July 14 Vermilion County Speedway Danville, IL
Mon. July 15 Off
Tues. July 16 Off
Wed. July 17 Brushcreek Motorsports Park Peebles, OH
Thurs. July 18 Twin Cities Raceway Park North Vernon, IN
Fri. July 19 Attica Raceway Park Attica, OH
Sat. July 20 Oakshade Raceway Wauseon, OH

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals “Hell Tour” is brought to fans across the country by many important partners including: Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Company), Hoosier Racing Tires (Official Racing Tires), Racing Electonics (Official Communication), Vicci (Official Uniform), VP Racing Fuel (Official Racing Fuel); in addition to these fine Contingency Sponsors: Beyea Headers, Butlerbuilt, Cometic Gasket, Comp Cams, Dominator Race Products, Edelbrock, Chevy Performance Parts, , Integra Shocks, Intercomp, JE Pistons, JRI Shocks, Klotz Lubricants, MSD Performance, Petroff Towing, Quartermaster, Superflow Dynos, UNOH (University of Northwestern Ohio), and Wrisco Aluminum.