American Modified Series 11th Annual Mod Squad Bash at Bluegrass Speedway May 14

American Modified SeriesBardstown, KY-May 7, 2011- After being off this past weekend, Bluegrass Speedway track promoters David and Anita Ferrell are set to return with racing competition on Saturday May 14 as the American Modified Series comes to the ½ mile high-banked Nelson County clay oval for the 11th Annual Mod Squad, paying $1,500 to win for the UMP Modified division.

The American Modified Series visit to Bluegrass Speedway on Saturday May 14 will feature a full program of practice, group time trials, qualifying heats, B-Mains, and the 30 lap, $1,500 to win 11th Annual Mod Squad Bash A-Main. Also on the racing program for May 14 will be the 44 Auto Mart Super Late Models, racing for $1,000 to win, and the UMP Street Stocks, racing for $100 to win, while the Clayton Homes of Stanford UMP Sportsman will start their season on May 21. For the May 14 event, the Super Late Model and UMP Modified divisions will time trial, while the UMP Street Stocks will pill draw for heat race starting assignments.

Activities at Bluegrass Speedway for the May 14 American Modified Series event will see gate and start times return to normal. The pit area will open at 4:00 p.m., while the general admission area will open at 5:00 p.m. The drivers meeting will take place at 6:00 p.m., with practice set to begin at 6:30 p.m. Time trials will get underway at 7:00 p.m., with racing set for the green flag at or before 8:00 p.m. Ticket prices for the May 14 event in the general admission area will be $15 for adults, $8 for children ages 6 to 12, with children age 5 and under free. A pit pass will be $30.

The Mod Squad Bash first appeared on the Bluegrass Speedway in 2001 and saw New Hope, KY native Joe Mattingly grab the win, followed by Benji Lee of Loretto, KY winning the race in 2002. Josh Lucas of Bardstown, KY would take the event victory in 2003, while Kelly Warren of Columbia, KY would win the race in 2004 for his only win at the track. Two more first time winners would take the next pair of events as well, with Ted Nobbe of Batesville, IN winning in 2005 and Don Adams of London, KY winning in 2006. The only two-time winner of the event up to this point took place in 2007 and 2008 when Joey Kramer of Hanover, IN would grab the race wins. Randle Sweeney of Clifty, KY would hit paydirt in the 2009 event, while Jason Wheatley of Loretto, KY would win the race in 2010 as is the defending event champion.

Bluegrass Speedway last raced on April 30 and feature event winners included Darrell Lanigan of Union, KY in 44 Auto Mart Super Late Models and Michael England of Glasgow, KY in Country 100.9 MIKE FM UMP Modifieds. The Clayton Homes of Stanford UMP Sportsman and UMP Street Stocks were not in competition.

Bluegrass Speedway is located at 2221 New Haven Road at the intersection of Kentucky Highway 31-E and exit 21 of the Martha Layne Collins (Bluegrass) Parkway. David and Anita Ferrell are the track promoters and present dirt track sports entertainment on Saturday evenings from mid-April through September. For more information about Bluegrass Speedway, visit the track’s webpage on the internet at or phone (502) 349-1241 on raceday.