Devin Gilpin Strikes First in DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals, Taking Victory at Indiana’s Tri-State Speedway


Devin Gilpin

HAUBSTADT, Ind. — June 8, 2013 — Defending DIRTcar UMP Modified national champion Devin Gilpin kicked off the 2013 DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals by driving to a 40-lap victory on Saturday night at Tri-State Speedway.

(Click here for news and information on the Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals.)

Levi Kissinger, Bryce Jewell, Tyler Nicely and Zach Fair rounded out the top five.

A stacked field of 49 DIRTcar UMP Modifieds was chasing the $3,000 checkered flag, including Ken Schrader and former DIRTcar UMP champions Mike Harrison, Randle Sweeney and Jeff Leka.

Heat race winners included Kissinger, Jewell, Gilpin, Clayton Miller, Schrader and Harrison.

The DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals returns to action Wednesday night at Brownstown (Ind.) Speedway, where it joins the DIRTcar Late Model Summer Nationals Hell Tour to kick off its month-long journey through the Midwest.

Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Statistical Report; Tri-Speedway; Haubstadt, Ind.; June 8, 2013 A-Main (40-laps): 1. Devin Gilpin ($3,000), 2. Levi Kissinger, 3. Bryce Jewell, 4. Tyler Nicely, 5. Zach Fair, 6. Trent Young, 7. Everett Bradham, 8. Ken Schrader, 9. Michael Fox, 10. Dave Beck, 11. Jimmy Payne, 12. Matt Mevert, 13. Matt Cooper, 14. Brian Shaw, 15. John DeMoss, 16. Clayton Miller, 17. Ray Bollinger, 18. Brad Barrow, 19. Mike Harrison, 20. Randle Sweeney, 21. Gabe Menser, 22. Jeff Leka.

2013 DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals

Day Date Track Location Winner
Saturday June 8 Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, IN Devin Gilpin
Wednesday June 12 Brownstown Speedway Brownstown, IN
Friday June 14 Kankakee County Speedway Kankakee, IL
Sunday June 16 Wilmot Raceway Wilmot, WI
Wednesday June 19 Spoon River Speedway Canton, IL
Thursday June 20 Belle-Clair Speedway Belleville, IL
Friday June 21 Tri-City Speedway Pontoon Beach, IL
Saturday June 22 Fairbury Speedway Fairbury, IL
Sunday June 23 I-96 Speedway Lake Odessa, MI
Monday June 24 Peoria Speedway Peoria, IL
Wednesday June 26 Clarksville Speedway Clarksville, TN
Thursday June 27 Clayhill Motorsports Park Atwood, TN
Friday June 28 Paducah International Raceway Paducah, KY
Saturday June 29 Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55 Pevely, MO
Sunday June 30 Lincoln Speedway Lincoln, IL
Tuesday July 2 Quincy Raceways Quincy, IL
Wednesday July 3 Jacksonville Speedway Jacksonville, IL
Thursday July 4 LaSalle Speedway LaSalle, IL
Friday July 5 Fayette County Speedway Brownstown, IL
Saturday July 6 Highland Speedway Highland, IL
Sunday July 7 Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, IN
Tuesday July 9 Florence Speedway Union, KY
Wednesday July 10 Terre Haute Action Track Terre Haute, IN
Thursday July 11 Macon Speedway Macon, IL
Friday July 12 Kankakee County Speedway Kankakee, IL
Sunday July 14 Vermillion County Speedway Danville, IL
Wednesday July 17 Brushcreek Motorsports Park Peebles, OH
Thursday July 18 Twin Cities Raceway Park North Vernon, IN
Friday July 19 Attica Raceway Park Attica, OH
Saturday July 20 Oakshade Raceway Wauseon, OH

The Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals is brought to fans across the country by many important sponsors and partners, including: Summit Racing Equipment (Title Sponsor), Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Company), Hoosier Racing Tires (Official Racing Tires), Racing Electronics (Official Communications), Vicci (Official Uniform), VP Racing Fuel (Official Racing Fuel); in addition to contingency sponsors: Auto Meter, Bell Helmets, Beyea Headers, Bilstein Shocks, Chevy Performance Parts, Shafer Enterprises’ Cool Shirts, Dominator Race Products, Eibach Springs, Fast Shafts, FK Rod Ends, Fragola Performance Systems, Impact Race Products, Intercomp, KSE Racing Products, Landrum Springs, MSD Ignitions, QA1 Motorsports, Quartermaster, Schoenfeld Headers, UNOH (University of Northwestern Ohio), and XS Power Racing Batteries.