Gilpin Continues DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Streak, Goes Two-for-Two with Brownstown Speedway Victory

Devin Gilpin
Devin Gilpin

BROWNSTOWN, Ind. — June 12, 2013 — Devin Gilpin picked up his second win in as many starts in the DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals on Wednesday night at Brownstown Speedway.

Twenty-five UMP Modifieds took to the quarter-mile track, each trying to capture the $1,000-to-win checkered flag. Gilpin dominated from the drop of the green flag, going on to win over Jacob Poel for his second consecutive victory on the tour after winning on Saturday night at Tri-State Speedway.

“Anything is possible,” said Gilpin, the defending DIRTcar UMP Modified national champion from Columbus, Ind. “I had an awesome racecar and I can’t think my Grandpa enough, he has this thing dialed in everywhere we go.”

Jeff Curl, David Mielke and Derek Groomer rounded out the top five.

The DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals continues on Friday at Kankakee County Speedway.

Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Statistical Report; Brownstown (Ind.) Speedway; June 12, 2013

A-Main: 1.Devin Gilpin ($1,000), 2. Jacob Poel, 3. Jeff Curl, 4. David Mielke, 5. Derek Groomer, 6. Steve Godsey, 7. Jason Thomas, 8. Collin Thirlby, 9. Nick Allen, 10. Matt Boknecht, 11.Ryan Thomas, 12. Shawn Brown, 13. Kenny Wallace, 14. Dennis Boknecht, 15. Jacoby Hines, 16. Jeremy Owens, 17. Rob Gullion, 18. Josh Klein, 19. John DeMoss, 20. Earl Plessinger

2013 DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals

Day Date Track Location Winner
Saturday June 8 Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, IN Devin Gilpin
Wednesday June 12 Brownstown Speedway Brownstown, IN Devin Gilpin (NP)
Friday June 14 Kankakee County Speedway Kankakee, IL
Sunday June 16 Wilmot Raceway Wilmot, WI
Wednesday June 19 Spoon River Speedway Canton, IL
Thursday June 20 Belle-Clair Speedway Belleville, IL
Friday June 21 Tri-City Speedway Pontoon Beach, IL
Saturday June 22 Fairbury Speedway Fairbury, IL
Sunday June 23 I-96 Speedway Lake Odessa, MI
Monday June 24 Peoria Speedway Peoria, IL
Wednesday June 26 Clarksville Speedway Clarksville, TN
Thursday June 27 Clayhill Motorsports Park Atwood, TN
Friday June 28 Paducah International Raceway Paducah, KY
Saturday June 29 Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55 Pevely, MO
Sunday June 30 Lincoln Speedway Lincoln, IL
Tuesday July 2 Quincy Raceways Quincy, IL
Wednesday July 3 Jacksonville Speedway Jacksonville, IL
Thursday July 4 LaSalle Speedway LaSalle, IL
Friday July 5 Fayette County Speedway Brownstown, IL
Saturday July 6 Highland Speedway Highland, IL
Sunday July 7 Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, IN
Tuesday July 9 Florence Speedway Union, KY
Wednesday July 10 Terre Haute Action Track Terre Haute, IN
Thursday July 11 Macon Speedway Macon, IL
Friday July 12 Kankakee County Speedway Kankakee, IL
Sunday July 14 Vermillion County Speedway Danville, IL
Wednesday July 17 Brushcreek Motorsports Park Peebles, OH
Thursday July 18 Twin Cities Raceway Park North Vernon, IN
Friday July 19 Attica Raceway Park Attica, OH
Saturday July 20 Oakshade Raceway Wauseon, OH

*NP – non-points race, includes Summit Racing Equipment Contingency awards

The Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals is proudly brought to you by these fine partners : Summit Racing Equipment (Title Sponsor), Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Provider), Hoosier Racing Tire (Official Racing Tire), VP Racing Fuels (Official Fuel), along with these Contingency Parters: MSD Performance, TomCat Performance, Landrum Performance Springs, Dominator Race Products, QuarterMaster, KSE Racing Products, Bilstein Shocks, Wrisco Aluminum, Beyea Custom Headers, Fast Shafts, Bassett Wheels, QA1, Auto Meter, Schoenfeld Headers, University of Northwestern Ohio (UNOH), Racing Electronics, Intercomp, Bell Helmets, Shafer Enterprises’ Cool Shirts, XS Power Racing Batteries, and Chevy Performance.