Thomas Scores Second Win of 2013 Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals at Vermilion County Speedway

Ryan Thomas


DANVILLE, Ill. — July 14, 2013 — Ryan Thomas scored his second victory of the 2013 Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals in dominating fashion on Sunday night, leading every lap but the first one at Vermilion County Speedway.

Thomas, of Martinsville, Ind., becomes only the third repeat winner of the six-week 2013 season. Thomas started on the outside of Steven Brooks, of New Lenox, Ill., on the front row as the field thundered to the green flag. Brooks got the early jump on Thomas before surrendering the lead on lap 2 to Thomas, who made his move to the front in the low groove.

Thomas quickly extended his lead over Brooks, who had his hands full with Brian Lynn and Nick Allen. Brooks allowed Lynn by him for a few laps before finally recapturing the second position, but no one could catch Thomas, who had extended his lead over the field. Eventually Brooks had a chance to pass Thomas with two to go but could not pull even with him as Thomas held him off to capture the $1,000 checkered flag.

(Click here for news and information on the Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals.)

Nick Allen, Rusty Griffaw and Brian Lynn rounded out the top five.

Heat race winners included Steven Brooks, Randy Shuman, Ryan Thomas and Brian Lynn.

The DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals continues in its final week of action Monday night at Peoria Speedway located in Peoria, Illinois.

DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Statistical Report; Vermilion County Speedwway; Danville, Ill.; July 13, 2013

A-Main (25-laps): 1. Ryan Thomas ($1,000), 2. Steven Brooks, 3. Nick Allen, 4. Rusty Griffaw, 5. Brian Lynn, 6. Mike Harrison, 7. Lodge Donovan, 8. Gabe Menser, 9. Collin Thirlby, 10. Tim Reynolds, 11. Clint DeMoss, 12. Wes McClara, 13. Dave Baldwin, 14. Chad Evans, 15. Kenny Carmichael, 16. Jeffery Ledford, 17. Kenny Carmichael Jr, 18. Jason Thomas, 19. Richie Dawson, 20. Randy Shuman, 21. Ryan Cary, 22. Josh Ferguson.

2013 DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals

Day Date Track Location Winner
Saturday June 8 Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, IN Devin Gilpin
Wednesday June 12 Brownstown Speedway Brownstown, IN Devin Gilpin (2)
Friday June 14 Kankakee County Speedway Kankakee, IL Nick Allen
Sunday June 16 Wilmot Raceway Wilmot, WI Mitch McGrath
Wednesday June 19 Spoon River Speedway Canton, IL Kenny Wallace
Thursday June 20 Belle-Clair Speedway Belleville, IL Brian Beilong
Friday June 21 Tri-City Speedway Pontoon Beach, IL Michael Long
Saturday June 22 Fairbury Speedway Fairbury, IL Lance Dehm
Sunday June 23 I-96 Speedway Lake Odessa, MI Dona Marcoullier
Monday June 24 Peoria Speedway Peoria, IL PPD/Rain July 15
Wednesday June 26 Clarksville Speedway Clarksville, TN Matt Cooper
Thursday June 27 Clayhill Motorsports Park Atwood, TN Lucas Lee
Friday June 28 Paducah International Raceway Paducah, KY Mike Harrison
Saturday June 29 Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55 Pevely, MO Canceled/Rain
Sunday June 30 Lincoln Speedway Lincoln, IL Ray Bollinger
Tuesday July 2 Quincy Raceways Quincy, IL Steven DeLonjay
Wednesday July 3 Jacksonville Speedway Jacksonville, IL David Wietholder
Thursday July 4 LaSalle Speedway LaSalle, IL Donovan Lodge
Friday July 5 Fayette County Speedway Brownstown, IL Brent Mullins
Saturday July 6 Highland Speedway Highland, IL PPD/Rain Aug. 25
Sunday July 7 Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, IN Mike Harrison (2)
Tuesday July 9 Florence Speedway Union, KY Ryan Thomas
Wednesday July 10 Terre Haute Action Track Terre Haute, IN Canceled/Rain
Thursday July 11 Macon Speedway Macon, IL Mike Harrison (3)
Friday July 12 Kankakee County Speedway Kankakee, IL Jeff Curl
Sunday July 14 Vermillion County Speedway Danville, IL Ryan Thomas (2)
Monday July 15 Peoria Speedway Peoria, IL
Wednesday July 17 Brushcreek Motorsports Park Peebles, OH
Friday July 19 Attica Raceway Park Attica, OH
Saturday July 20 Oakshade Raceway Wauseon, OH

The Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals is proudly brought to you by these fine partners : Summit Racing Equipment (Title Sponsor), Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Provider), Hoosier Racing Tire (Official Racing Tire), VP Racing Fuels (Official Fuel), along with these Contingency Parters: MSD Performance, TomCat Performance, Landrum Performance Springs, Dominator Race Products, QuarterMaster, KSE Racing Products, Bilstein Shocks, Wrisco Aluminum, Beyea Custom Headers, Fast Shafts, Bassett Wheels, QA1, Auto Meter, Schoenfeld Headers, University of Northwestern Ohio (UNOH), Racing Electronics, Intercomp, Bell Helmets, Shafer Enterprises’ Cool Shirts, XS Power Racing Batteries, and Chevy Performance.