Steve Bernier wins historic Sportsman Modified Series race at Autodrome Drummond

Inaugural Sportsman Modified Series visit to Quebec spells victory for Bernier


Drummondville, Quebec – Monday, July 22, 2013 – Martin Bélanger, DIRTcar Correspondent – A perfect night for racing greeted the fans and competitors for round number four of the DIRTcar Sportsman Series at Autodrome Drummond for a first Quebec swing in ”la belle province.”

Adam Hilton and Guy Ouellette shared the top row for the 50-lap Sportsman event, Ouellette had a great jump and got the initial lead over Yves Leveillee and Steve Bernier as Hilton faded to sixth. The first caution came on lap 4 as Jenna David and Boyd McTavish had issues.

On the following green, Steve Bernier was the new leader using the top side as Ouellette was second and Mathieu Desjardins in third.

Bernier was pulling away from the field as Desjardins got by Ouellette for second with a dozen laps in the books.

Desjardins closed in with the leader and took the lead on lap 17 just as Samuel Lajoie slowed the field down.

When the green lights came back out, Bernier to the lead with Desjardins by his side as top 5 runner, Dany Gagné stopped in turn 2 and the race was slowed again.

Bernier maintained the lead as Desjardins went a little high, momentarily losing second, but was back in full force with Ladouceur still racing with him as the race closed in to halfway.

Mario Genest had a flat tire and the yellow lights were out with half the laps to go, Bernier was the leader with Desjardins, Ladouceur, Ouellette and Brad Rouse cracking the top 5.

Another lap was done as Martin Giguere and Rene Clair stopped in turn 2, Ouellette was able to get third as Jessica Power was a new member of the top 5.

Local top runner Bernier was building himself a good lead as Ladouceur and Desjardins were swapping second spot with less than 15 laps to go.

Desjardins jumped the cushion and Jessica Power now running third but got caught in lapped traffic and Brad Rouse was able to get by Power as Desjardins was in fifth.

Bernier led the final circuits and captures his first ever DIRTcar Sportsman Series event in front of Brad Rouse who passed Ladouceur at the winner circle. Jessica Power and Mathieu Desjardins rounded out the top 5.

Bernier was a happy customer in winner circle. “We brought our other car tonight and things worked well for us, it is always fun to run against other competitors from elsewhere,” Bernier said.

Brad Rouse was also in a great mood at the post race interview: ”It is a great honor to finish second”.

Current point`s leader Joey Ladouceur had also a smile on his face: ”happy with third, good for the series points”

The DIRTcar Sportsman Series remains in Quebec for another night as it will visit Autodrome Granby on Tuesday, July 23 for round #5 of the series.

DIRTcar Sportsman Series Race #4-Autodrome Drummond, July 22, 2013 Event Summary

Feature Results:

Steve Bernier, Brad Rouse, Joey Ladouceur, Jessica Power, Mathieu Desjardins, Guy Ouellette, Dany Gagne, Martin Pelletier, Pat Dumouchel, Jonathan Desilets, Maxime Blain, Yves Leveillee, Sebastien Bourque, Martin Giguere, Kaven Poliquin, Mike Stacey, Stephane Bernier, Jean-Francois Arpin, Louie Jackson Jr, Marcel Larocque, Boyd McTavish, Mario Genest, Mathieu Laramee, Bill Mullin, Adam Hilton, Samuel Lajoie, Rene Clair, Alex Therrien, Jenna David, Martin Lessard



Ouellette (1-4)

Bernier (5-16)

Desjardins (17-18)

Bernier (19-50)


Heat Races (8 laps, top 3 went to redraw, 5 to feature)

#1: Gagne, Rouse, David, Blain, Power, A.Therrien, Bourque, Dumouchel, Genest

#2 : Desjardins, Poliquin, Hebert, Mullin, Stacey, Lessard, Doyon, Steph.Bernier, Bergeron

#3: Ladouceur, Hilton, R.Clair, Pelletier, Laramee, Desilets, S.Lajoie, Larocque, Lavoie

#4: Bernier, Leveillee, Ouellette, McTavish, Arpin, Giguere, Duquette, Jackson Jr, St-Onge

Consolation Races (10 laps, top 5 went to feature)

#1: A.Therrien, Bourque, Dumouchel, Genest, Steph Bernier, Doyon, Lessard

#2 : Desilets, Jackson Jr, Lajoie, Giguere, Larocque, Duquette, St-Onge, Savoie, Thompson

Autodrome Drummond DIRTcar Sportsman Series Race #4 Roster (37)


1 Bill Mullin

1R Ricky Thompson

2 Jenna David

2x Martin Lessard

3a Adam Hilton

3D Patrice Dumouchel

3jc Mario Genest

3m Mathieu Desjardins

7h Maxime Hebert

10 Steve Savoie

11j Martin Giguere

18jr Louie Jackson jr

18r Brad Rouse

20 Jean-Francois Arpin

21 Jonathan Desilets

22 Rene Clair

23 Mike Stacey

24 Maxime Blain

24r7 Stephane Bernier

25 Steve Bernier

27 Marcel Larocque

27s Sonny St-Onge

29 Michel Bergeron

32 Guy Ouellette

39x Alex Therrien

41 Boyd McTavish

48b Sebastien Bourque

49 Kaven Poliquin

52 Jessica Power

66 Rene Duquette

72 Samuel Lajoie

88 Dominic Doyon

90 Dany Gagne

91 Mathieu Laramee

92 Joey Ladouceur

92p Martin Pelletier

139 Yves Leveillee

2013 DIRTcar Sportsman Series Schedule

Wed. June 5 Rolling Wheels Raceway Elbridge, N. Y. Adam Hilton

Mon. July 1 Cornwall Motor Speedway Cornwall, Ont. Brad Rouse

Wed. July 3 Ransomville Speedway, Ransomville. N. Y. Joey Ladouceur

Mon. July 22 Autodrome Drummond Drummondville, Que. Steve Bernier

Tues. July 23 Autodrome Granby Granby, Que.

Fri. Sept. 6 Ransomville Speedway Ransomville, N. Y.

Sat. Sept. 7 Merrittville Speedway Thorold, Ont.

Sun. Sept. 8 Humberstone Speedway Port Colborne, Ont.

Sat. Sept. 14 Mohawk International Raceway Akwesasne, N. Y.

Fri. Sept. 20 Brighton Speedway Brighton, Ont.

Sat. Sept. 21 Le RPM Speedway St. Marcel de Richelieu, Que.

Wed. Oct. 9 Cayuga County Fair Speedway Weedsport, N. Y.

Sat. Oct. 12 New York State Fairgrounds Syracuse, N. Y.

Sun. Oct. 20 Brockville Ontario Speedway Brockville

The Super DIRTcar Series and DIRTcar Racing in the Northeast Region is brought to fans by several sponsors and partners including Hoosier Racing Tire, VP Racing Fuels, Chevy Performance Parts, NAPA Auto Parts, and Safety-Kleen. Contingency partners include the University of Northwestern Ohio. Contingency sponsors are ASI, Bicknell Racing Products, Bilstein Shocks, Brodix, ButlerBuilt, Cometic Gasket, Comp Cams, Edelbrock, Integra Shocks, Intercomp, JE Pistons, JRI Shocks, Klotz Synthetic Lubricants, KSE Racing Products, Motorsports Safety Systems, MSD Performance, Penske Shocks, Racing Electronics, Superflow and Wrisco Industries.