Pecore Wins DIRTcar Sportsman Event at Airborne

Courtesy of Airborne Park Speedway PR

PLATTSBURGH – Shane Pecore of Cornwall, ON. collected the victory in the DIRTcar Sportsman Series event at Airborne Park Speedway Tuesday night.

Pecore took the lead for keeps on lap-40, when he and leader at the time, Devin Willis ran upon lap traffic. Pecore made a veteran move to slide past coming out of turn four.

After a yellow flag on lap-41, Pecore elected to restart from the outside lane and drove away to a comfortable margin of victory.

“You have to be on top of your game with the Sportsman Series events,” Pecore said. “I think this group put on a great race tonight.”

Willis held on for a second-place finish, while Nick Heywood made a last lap pace to capture a third-place finish. Martin Pelletier and Jamy Begor rounded out the unofficial top five.

Tylor Terry scored his fourth win of the season in the Ernie’s Discount Tools Super Stock division. Terry took the lead with five laps remaining, as he worked around Jim McKiernan.

McKiernan held on for second with Brent Jarvis finishing third. Michael Wright and Josh Terry finish fourth and fifth, respectively.

Josh LaPorte won for the second time in the Mini-Mod division and Kyle Botala collected the Strictly Stock victory, while substitute driving for Lynn Denton.

Racing action resumes on Saturday for the First Annual Hall of Fame Night presented by Momot Trailer Sales. Post time is set for 7 p.m.

For more information, visit or on Facebook at Airborne Park Speedway.

DIRTCAR SPORTSMAN UNOFFICIAL FINISH: (50 LAPS) SHANE PECORE, Devin Willis, Nick Heywood, Martin Pelletier, Jamy Begor, Bucko Branham, Cedric Gauvreau, Bri Ladouceur, Robert Delormier, Mike Stacey, Alex LaJoie, Jason Bruno, Lonnie Rivers, Billy Cook, Jamie LaFountain, Andy Heywood, Cory McCoy, Chris Cayea, Adam Rozon, Patrick Picotin, Rico Hernandez, Thomas Cook, Jason McClatchie, Ricky Thompson