Tyler McPherson Wins Three in a Row for DIRTcar Sportsman Modified Series

McPherson takes Ransomville, Merrittville and Humberstone

WEEDSPORT, N. Y. – September 13, 2012 – Tyler McPherson charged ahead of the pack for victory in three races in as many days, winning DIRTcar Sportsman Modified Series events at Ransomville Speedway Friday, Sept. 7, Merrittville Speedway Saturday, Sept. 8, and Humberstone Speedway Sunday, Sept. 9.

Friday at Ransomville, for the second round of the DIRTcar Sportsman Modified Series, McPherson started 24th on the grid, but survived several early-race cautions and a pair of red flags, working his way up to the lead spot, which he gained in lap 34. He led the remainder of the race, with Don Spatorico coming in second, Brandon Easey third, Cody McPherson fourth, and Alan Willis fifth.

Mark Chiddy led early in Saturday’s 50-lapper at Merrittville Speedway, until Dave Marcuccilli took control of the top spot in lap 7. Once again, McPherson propelled forward and was soon challenging the leader, with three-wide battles for first between Chiddy, Marcuccilli, and McPherson characterizing the race at the halfway point. Once again, at lap 34, McPherson pulled ahead to the lead and kept it through the checkered flag. Chiddy took second, Gary Lindberg third, and Brandon Easey and Marcuccilli round out the top five in fourth and fifth respectively.

“We tried something different last night and again tonight – we’ll use it to our advantage,” McPherson said in victory lane after Saturday’s race. “We’d like to try for a third.”

Sure enough, the racing action continued for a third night with McPherson taking home the trophy. Marcuccilli and Martin Pelletier led at the green flag for Sunday’s race at Humberstone Speedway, but the action slowed when a collision involving Greg Panunte, Jesse Cotriss, Justin Sharp, and Easey brought out the yellow flag. Marcuccilli led off the restart, but McPherson passed him in lap 39 and kept the lead. Pelletier also slipped by Marcuccilli for second, Marcuccilli finishing third. Fourth was Penunte and Lindberg fifth.

The DIRTcar Sportsman Modified Series continues Saturday, Sept. 15, with round five at Mohawk Internatiional Raceway in Akwesasne, N. Y.

DIRTcar Sportsman Modified Series, Rounds 2, 3, and 4 – Statistical Report

Friday, September 7, at Ransomville Speedway
A-Main (50 laps): 1. Tyler McPherson, 2. Don Spatorico, 3. Brandon Easey, 4. Cody McPherson, 5. Allan Wills, 6. Jesse Cotriss, 7. Dan Wiesner, 8. James Henry, 9. Kevin Wills, 10. Justin Sharp, 11. Matt Farnham, 12. Martin Pelletier, 13. Chris Harbison, 14. BJ Willard, 15. Ryan Arbuthroat, 16. Jim Zimmerman, 17. Louis Jackson Jr., 18. Tommy Keyes, 19. Ricky Thompson, 20. Dave Marcuccilli, 21. Jessica Powers, 22. Brent Kelsey, 23. Mike Williams, 24. Greg Martin, 25. Andy Smith, 26. Adam Hilton, 27. Josh Van Brocklin, 28. James Michael Friesen, 29. Cory Wheeler, 30. Mathieu Desjardins, and 31. Jipp Ortiz.  Jipp Ortiz (9 car), Jesse Cotriss (9 cars), Dave Marcuccilli (9 cars), Jim Zimmerman (10 cars), and BJ Willard (10 cars).  Consolation Winners – Justin Sharp and Ricky Thompson.

Saturday, September 8, at Merrittville Speedway A-Main (50 laps): 1. Tyler McPherson, 2. Mark Chiddy, 3. Gary Lindberg, 4. Brandon Easey, 5. Dave Marcucilli, 6. Dan Wiesner, 7. Brad Rouse, 8. Cody McPherson, 9. Justin Sharp, 10. Brent Begolo, 11. James Friesen, 12. Mathieu Desjardins, 13. Adam Leslie, 14. Martin Pelletier, 15. Jim Johnstone, 16. Josh Van Brocklin, 17. Austin Wood, 18. Chris Herbison, 19. Jesse Cotriss, 20. Ron MacAulay, 21. Ryan Arbuthnot, 22. Jessica Power, 23. Corey Wheeler, 24. Rob Knapp, 25. David Flannigan, 26. AJ Lewis, 27. BJ Willard, 28. Greg Panunte, 29. Louie Jackson.

Sunday, September 9, at Humberstone Speedway A-Main (50 laps): 1. Tyler McPherson, 2. Martin Pelletier, 3. Dave Marcuccilli, 4. Greg Panunte, 5. Gary Lindberg, 6. Mark Chiddy, 7. BJ Willard, 8. Brandon Easey, 9. Darrell Farraway, 10. Cody McPherson, 11. Justin Sharp, 12. Mathieu Desjardins, 13. Jesse Penner, 14. Matt Sharpe, 15. Brent Begolo, 16. Jesse Cotriss, 17. Josh VanBrocklin, 18. Adam Leslie, 19. Austin Wood, 20. Shayne Pierce, 21. Chris Herbison, 22. Corey Wheeler, 23. Steve Barber, 24. Brad Rouse, 25. JM Friesen, 26. Louie Jackson Jr., 27. Ron MacAuley, 28. Jessica Power, 29. Danny Wiesner