BIG BLOCKS, BIGGER TROPHY: Matjoulis Wins Title in Shootout at Charlotte

After winning the World of Outlaws Late Model iRacing World Championship in 2019, CFM eSports driver Blake Matjoulis set out on the championship trail of the DIRTcar eSports Tour in Season 4 and instantly knew he’d be in contention to win his first title. Ten races later, and the fixed-series championship gold is now his.

Coming into the final race, Matjoulis was tied with World Championship rival Alex Bergeron and one point ahead of CFM teammate Ean Seay, making the most intense battles for the championship in Tour history. Matjoulis put himself ahead early, qualifying second-fastest of 42 cars and winning his Heat Race to set him on the front row of the Feature.

Polesitter Hayden Cardwell led until exactly the halfway point, but a costly mistake getting into Turn 1 slammed him into the outside wall, coughing up the lead to Matjoulis. Cardwell then wrecked in Turns 3-4, bringing out the yellow and sending him to the tail.

Matjoulis fended off pressure from Seay from there on out, and sealed the deal in the final laps when Cardwell nearly completed an amazing comeback from the tail of the field by beating him, and Seay, to the stripe in a race off Turn 4 to clinch his first Tour championship.

CFM eSports Feature (50 laps) 1. 127-Blake Matjoulis [2]; 2. 33-Evan Seay [5]; 3. 07-Hayden Cardwell [1]; 4. 41-Logan Rumsey [4]; 5. 12-Alex A Bergeron [6]; 6. 00-Kendal Tucker [12]; 7. 69-Brent D Carter [18]; 8. 23-Ethan C Toedter [13]; 9. 000-Peter Neuder [19]; 10. 96-Gunnar G Swanchara [7]; 11. 013-Aiden Bierlein [16]; 12. 15-Justin Sick [21]; 13. 045-Kyle Jared [22]; 14. 30-Stevin Goldner [20]; 15. 13-Lane Smith2 [8]; 16. 88-Tyler Mayo [10]; 17. 28-Dalton DeWert [15]; 18. 51-Ryan A Miller [14]; 19. 22-Levi Stagman [24]; 20. 9-Carl Kilgore [23]; 21. 48-Dylan Yeager [9]; 22. 74-Loic Bernier [3]; 23. 09-Tanner Tomasi [11]; 24. 85-Tyler Schell [17]