Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Dylan Evoy claims first career DIRTcar Sportsman Modified Series victory

Evoy wins 75-lapper at Mohawk International Raceway


AKWESASNE, N.Y. – Sunday, September 14, 2014 – Dylan Evoy charged to victory in Saturday’s 75-lap DIRTcar Sportsman Modified Series Pete Mitchell memorial event at Mohawk International Raceway. The win marked Evoy’s first career DIRTcar Sportsman Modified Series victory.

“This is pretty special,” said Evoy, “We adjusted a little over on the setup of the car, but the track came to us as it wore out throughout the race.”

Evoy started 6th in the 75-lap feature, which rolled off after midnight Sunday morning after inclement weather delayed qualifying rounds Saturday night. Polesitter Ryan Stabler claimed the initial lead over Mike Maresca before a lap-6 caution slowed the pace.

James Michael Friesen powered from third on the restart to become the new race leader, but the yellow flag waved again in lap 13 before he could make much headway. Nonetheless, Friesen kept the top spot off the restart as Maresca pulled into second.

Maresca gained momentum off the green laps and passed Friesen for the lead in lap 25 as Justin Lalancette ran third, Stabler fourth and Corey Wheeler fifth.

In lap 39, NAPA Auto Parts Super DIRT Week star Rocky Warner hit the outside wall in turns three and four, bringing the third caution of the race. Stabler was fast on the restart and took over the lead from Maresca. Also fast on the restart, Evoy had made it to third, and by lap 49 was able to get around Maresca for second.

The No. 25g of Nick Guererri hit an infield tire and spun in lap 52, causing the yellow flag to wave. Evoy raced wheel-to-wheel against Stabler on the restart, finally pulling ahead as the leaders raced along the front stretch.

Evoy soon reached slower cars at the back of the pack, and Stabler was able to gain some ground as the leaders raced through traffic. However, Evoy kept his spot until the checkered flag waved.

“The car really woke up after a caution, after the tires cooled down,” Evoy said. “We used the top to our advantage and made a lot of ground up. We stayed committed to the top, and kept working it and working it.”

Early race leader Stabler finished third after Maresca. Rounding out the top five are Cody McPherson in fourth and Justin Lalancette in fifth.

The DIRTcar Sportsman Modified Series continues Friday, Sept. 19, at Brighton Ontario Speedway. For more information about the DIRTcar Sportsman Modified Series, visit


DIRTcar Sportsman Modified Series Statistical Report

Mohawk International Raceway

September 13, 2014


A-Main (75 laps):

  1. 83 Dylan Evoy
  2. 7 Mike Maresca
  3. 77e Ryan Stabler
  4. 7am Cody McPherson
  5. 98H Justin Lalancette
  6. 52F James Michael Friesen
  7. 2ez Mike Arriquett
  8. 79 Rocky Warner
  9. 1M Mathieu Desjardins
  10. 30 Brad Rouse
  11. 5 Wyatt Mullin
  12. 47s Corey Wheeler
  13. m1 Dave Marcuccilli
  14. 42 Darryl Hutting
  15. 92p Martin Pelletier
  16. 15B Brianna Ladouceur
  17. 92 Joey Ladouceur
  18. 18Jr Louie Jackson, Jr.
  19. 14 Zach Arquiett
  20. 52 Jessica Power
  21. 11 Bryan Green
  22. 35 Thomas Cook
  23. 23 Mike Stacey
  24. 21 Robert Delormier
  25. 63 Corey Winters
  26. 27a Gilles Godard
  27. 25g Nick Guererri
  28. 11k Dillon Sallows
  29. 1R Ricky Thompson
  30. 29ny Joel Hargrave
  31. 0 Shane Pecore


Did Not Qualify:

007 Marcel LeFleur

1 Brian Hudson

1x Nolan Swamp

3 Adam Rozon

12g Matt Guererri

s14 Side Harmer, Jr.

17 Tristan Draper

20 Jason Shipclark

22m Scott Mere

37 Darryl Mitchell

44F Jonathan Ferguson

54 Greg Snyder

m70 Billy Cook

74 Neal Provst, II

88c Connor Dawdy

96 Joel Hearne


Non-Qualifiers Race: M. Guererri, Provst, Mere, Draper, Rozon, Cook, Ferguson, Harmer, Dawdy, Mitchell, Snyder, Hudson, Hearne, LeFleur

Dash: Lalancette ($1,000), Evoy, Delormier, Stabler, Hutting, Maresca, Arriquett, Friesen, Sallows, C Wheeler


Heat 1: Lalancette, Stabler, N. Guererri, Rouse, Pelletier, Arquiett, Ferguson, Mere, Hudson, Draper

Heat 2: Delormier, Maresca, McPherson, C. Winters, Cook, Harmer, B. Winters, Provst, Mitchell, Snyder

Heat 3: Hutting, Arriquett, Warner, Pecore, J. Ladouceur, Rozon, Power, Jackson, M. Guererri, Swamp

Heat 4: Evoy, Sallows, Marcuccilli, B. Ladouceur, Thompson, Stacey, Shipclark, Dawdy, Hearne, LaFleur

Heat 5: Friesen, Wheeler, Desjardins, Green, Mullin, Hargrave, Cook, Godard, Thurston

Time Trials: 1. Evoy 16.715, 2. Green 16.760, 3. Friesen 16.790, 4. Lalancette 16.896, 5. Desjardins 16.971, 6. Mullin 16.982, 7. Arriquett 16.984, 8. Wheeler 16.992, 9. Stabler 16.996, 10. Delormier 16.996, 11. Hutting 17.013, 12. Maresca 17.075, 13. Cook 17.111, 14. Sallows 17.120, 15. Marcuccilli 17.158, 16. Pecore 17.212, 17. N. Guererri 17.248, 18. B. Ladouceur 17.291, 19. McPherson 17.303, 20. Rouse 17.321, 21. Thompson 17.339, 22. Warner 17.372, 23. J. Ladouceur 17.373, 24. Hargrave 17.382, 25. Rozon 17.388, 26. Jackson 17.390, 27. Power 17.397, 28. M. Guererri 17.416, 29. Harper 17.427, 30. Stacey 17.429, 31. Arquiett 17.511, 32. Pelletier 17.524, 33. Cook 17.545, 34. Mere 17.560, 35. Shipclark 17.594, 36. B. Winters 17.606, 37. Draper 17.625, 38. C. Winters 17.661, 39. Ferguson 17.673, 40. Godard 17.702, 41. Dawdy 17.733, 42. Hearne 17.831, 43. Thurston 17.867, 44. Hudson 17.867, 45. Mitchell 17.918, 46. Swamp 18.123


2014 DIRTcar Sportsman Modified Series Schedule of Events


Sun., June 1 Cornwall Speedway Cornwall, Ontario M.Pelletier

Wed., July 2 Ransomville Speedway Ransomville, New York J.Sharp

Mon., July 21 Autodrome Granby Granby, Quebec M.Pelletier

Tues., July 22 Autodrome Drummond Drummondville, Quebec S. Pecore

Fri., Sept. 5 Ransomville Speedway Ransomville, NY J. Friesen

Sat., Sept. 6 Merrittville Speedway Merrittville, Ontario C. McPherson

Sun., Sept. 7 Humberstone Speedway Port Colborne, Ontario M. Desjardins

Sat., Sept. 13 Mohawk International Raceway Akwesasne, New York D. Evoy

Fri., Sept. 19 Brighton Speedway Brighton, Ontario

Sat., Sept. 20 Le RPM Speedway St. Marcel de Richelieu, QC

Wed., Oct. 8 Weedsport Speedway Weedsport, NY

Sat., Oct. 11 New York State Fairgrounds Syracuse, NY

Sat., Oct. 18 Brockville Speedway Brockville, Ontario

The Super DIRTcar Series and DIRTcar Racing in the Northeast Region is brought to fans by several sponsors and partners including Hoosier Racing Tire, VP Racing Fuels, Chevy Performance Parts, NAPA Auto Parts, and Safety-Kleen. Contingency partners include the University of Northwestern Ohio, ASI, Bicknell Racing Products, Bilstein Shocks, Brodix, ButlerBuilt, Cometic Gasket, Comp Cams, Edelbrock, Integra Shocks, Intercomp, JE Pistons, JRI Shocks, KSE Racing Products, Mobil 1, Motorsports Safety Systems, MSD LLC, Fox Shocks, Pole Position Raceway, Racing Electronics, Superflow and Wrisco Industries.

No tags for this post.

You May Also Like


After another weekend of DIRTcar Northeast action, four new drivers have taken the lead in the chase to become the top weekend warrior. Lance...

DIRTcar Sportsman Series

It’s the Central Square, NY driver’s eighth career DIRTcar Sportsman Series Win

DIRTcar Sportsman Series

The chase for the DIRTcar Sportsman Series championship begins this weekend with one of the four Sportsman regions taking the green flag. The North...


The battle to become the top DIRTcar weekend warrior begins this weekend. Drivers who compete weekly at DIRTcar-sanctioned tracks throughout the Northeast and Canada...