Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

DIRTcar Pro Late Models

TWO FOR TRENT: Trent Ivey Edges Dennis Franklin On Final Lap for Second Consecutive Pro Late Model Victory

Chris Dolack Photo

Trent Ivey cut his teeth on red clay tracks in the Southeast. And that experience paid off Saturday night at The Dirt Track at Charlotte.

After chasing Dennis Franklin for nine laps, Ivey snuck by Franklin in the final corner to win his second consecutive Fox Factory Pro Late Model Feature at the World Short Track Championship.

Franklin grabbed the early lead off Turn 2, pacing the opening two circuits before the yellow came out on Lap 3.

“Rambo” continued to stay out front in the race’s first half, holding off a three-wide challenge between himself, John Ruggiero and Benji Hicks on Lap 13.

As Franklin stayed in command at the front, Ivey was in fifth, needing a caution to break his way for a chance at victory. That break came on Lap 20, as Franklin held off another three-wide challenge. But this time, Ivey passed both Ruggiero and Steele to take over second.

Ivey chased Franklin’s #2 car for nine laps as both cars hugged the bottom of the track’s red-clay surface. But in Turns 3 and 4 on the final lap, Franklin went into Turn 4 too high, allowing Ivey to slide sneak underneath him with the checkered flag in sight. It was all Ivey needed to win, earning back-to-back victories at the World Short Track Championship.

Dennis Franklin and Trent Ivey

Trent Ivey powers under Dennis Franklin to take the lead on the final lap/Michael Fry photo

He joins Michael Brown as the only other driver to win the event twice.

“Everybody here has given me the best race car in the country right now,” Ivey said. “Special thanks to Gary, Wyatt, my family, Randall, my fiancé, my mom and dad, and Noah. I’m just happy to be back here.”

Franklin settled for second, his best finish in two World Short Track championship starts. Steele rounded out the podium, earning back-to-back top fives in the Pro Late Model Championship Feature.

Ruggiero crossed the line fourth, while Logan Roberson rounded out the top five.

Feature (30 Laps): 1. G4-Trent Ivey[7]; 2. 2-Dennis Franklin[1]; 3. 22-Jeremy Steele[4]; 4. 00R-John Ruggiero Jr[3]; 5. 17-Logan Roberson[12]; 6. 6-Dillon Brown[5]; 7. 55H-Benji Hicks[2]; 8. 31G-Stephen Pedulla[16]; 9. 66-Jody Knowles[10]; 10. 55-Matt Long[8]; 11. 11W-Joe Warren[22]; 12. 555-Brock Pinkerous[20]; 13. 27-Ben Faircloth[11]; 14. 1-Brent Trimble[6]; 15. 7J-Dalton Jacobs[23]; 16. 26M-Derrick Mcgrew Jr[15]; 17. P4-John Price[13]; 18. 42-Mark Greene[18]; 19. 5Q-Colby Quick[21]; 20. 78B-Matthew Brocato[24]; 21. 27H-Justin Hudspeth[25]; 22. 5-Travis Steele[17]; 23. 215-Jamison McBride[26]; 24. 74-Mike Franklin[19]; 25. 18-Ricky Greene[9]; 26. 615-Colton Trouille[14]

You May Also Like


By Matt Skipper As the temperatures began to drop at The Dirt Track at Charlotte, Luke Doggett only began to heat up in the...


By Matt Skipper After quietly having a fast weekend with the RaceQuip Mid-East Street Stocks, Ricky Greene had his pace on full display as...


For the second time in his career, Austin Holcombe is a World Short Track Champion. The Elm City, NC-racer had climbed out of his...


The final night of DIRTVision Hornet racing at the eighth annual World Short Track Championship Saturday night continued the theme of wild action, first...