Hall of Fame Flashback … 10 Day Countdown Underway

Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame - Ken Dippel Photo

May 20, 2010 – By Tom Skibinski, Super DIRTcar Series PR Director

Coming to a climax with the headline ‘Hall of Fame Classic 100’ on May 30, the Memorial Day Weekend Super DIRTcar Series showdown on the Cayuga County Fairgrounds is now just 10 days away. The historic Weedsport, New York speedway comes to life for the traditional holiday special with the 100-lap Big-Block Modified winner on Sunday waiting to take home a cool $6,000 top prize.

Helping commemorate the past two decades of Hall of Fame happenings at the home of DIRTcar Northeast, highlights from many of the past induction days will be recalled in anticipation of the first big holiday racing event of the season.

It all began when the Hall of Fame & Classic Car Museum was officially christened on April 12, 1992. On that special spring day some of the most prolific pioneers in our sport were honored together at the same time, with charter members Frank Andre, Billy Rafter, Pete Corey, Frankie Schneider, Gerald Chamberlain, Al Tasnady, Cliff Kotary, Dick Tobias, Dutch Hoag, Billy Wimble, Budd Olsen, Will Cagle and Elmer Musclow one again grabbing the spotlight on this momentous occasion. Only deceased drivers Olsen, Tasnady and Tobias, and Chamberlain were not in attendance, while the remaining living legends spent the evening trackside taking in the modern-day Modified action that culminated with the ‘Hurricane’ Steve Paine copping the inaugural Hall of Fame Classic.

In the new millennium, stock car racing enthusiasts from around the country continue to stroll through the museum corridors witnessing some one-of-a-kind racing memorabilia from those legendary drivers chronicled within. The famous Buzzie Reutimann “00” coupe, winner of the inaugural Schaefer 100’s in 1972 & ’73 was fully restored and put on display…..the controversial #112 “Batmobile” driven by Gary Balough to the 1980 Schaefer 200 looks like he just drove it off the track and into the showroom…..also finding their way into the museum have been the #19 of Kenny Brightbill, #4 of Lou Lazzaro, #29 of Kenny Weld, Billy Taylor’s #1 DIRTcar/Asphalt entry driven by Doug Hoffman, #0 of John McArdell, #63 of Wes Moody and the #22 open-wheel entry steered by 1977 Mr. DIRTcar champion Dave Lape.

Northeast Modified Hall of Fame Classic Big-Block Modified Winners
2009 – Billy Decker on May 24; 2008 – Dale Planck on May 25; 2007 – Danny Johnson and Tim Fuller on Aug. 19; 2006 – Danny Johnson on May 28; 2005 – Tim Fuller on May 29; 2004 – Gary Tomkins on May 30; 2003 – Alan Johnson on May 25; 2002 – Tim McCreadie on May 26; 2001 – Tim McCreadie on July 5; 2000 – Danny Johnson on May 28; 1999 – Billy Decker on May 30; 1998 – Gary Tomkins on May 24; 1997 – Danny Johnson on May 25; 1996 – Alan Johnson on May 26; 1995 – Rain; 1994 – Bob McCreadie on May 29; 1993 – Dave Lape on April 4; 1992 – Steve Paine on April 12.

The 19th Hall of Fame Classic at Cayuga County Fair Speedway on Sunday, May 30 is round three of the 2010 Super DIRTcar Series. Log into the homepage at www.superdirtcarseries.com to find out more about the nation’s premier Big-Block Modified tour and be sure to sign up as a Super DIRTcar Series follower on Twitter by visiting http://www.twitter.com/SuperDIRTcar. For further track information, access http://www.CayugaCountyFairSpeedway.com or phone 315/834-6606 during the day.

DIRTcar Racing Northeast main office is located in Weedsport, New York on the Cayuga County Fairgrounds, home of DIRTcar All-Star Weekend in July. DIRTcar Northeast’s crown jewel event —Super DIRT Week at the New York State Fairgrounds in Syracuse runs annually in October featuring Hoosier Tire-VP Racing Fuels Mr. DIRTcar Championship Series events for Big-Block Modified, 358-Modified, Sportsman and Pro Stock divisions. Ticket and schedule information is available by contacting the Weedsport office (315/834-6606) during the day or logging into www.allstar100weekend.com and www.superdirtweekonline.com anytime.

The Big-Block Super DIRTcar Series is brought to fans across the Northeast by several sponsors and partners, including series sponsors Hoosier Racing Tire www.hoosiertire.com and VP Racing Fuels www.vpracingfuels.com. Promotional partners include the University of Northwestern Ohio www.unoh.com and Chizmark & Larson Insurance www.chizmarklarson.com, and contingency sponsors are Bicknell Racing Products www.bicknellracingproducts.com, Bilstein Shocks www.bilstein.com, KSE Racing Products www.kse-racing.com, Motorsports Safety Systems www.motorsportssafetysystems.com, MSD Ignition www.msdignition.com, Penske Shocks, www.penskeshocks.com, Racing Electronics www.racingelectronics.com, Vicci Racing Apparel www.vicci.com and Wrisco Industries www.wrisco.com.