Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

358-Modifieds Chase DIRTcar Regional Point Fund Awards In 2008

Weedsport, NYMarch 25, 2008 – By Tom Skibinski, DIRTcar Racing NorthEast PR Director

The DIRTcar Weekly Racing regional points program for 358-Modifieds continues to gain momentum in its third straight year with added incentive coming in the form of lucrative payoffs by season’s end.

Open-wheel teams in the Big-Block Modified, 358-Modified and Sportsman Modified divisions collected over $45,000 in 2007, with 135 drivers rewarded in the popular regional points program developed by DIRTcar officials to entice further competition around the entire circuit.

“We finally got the secret out last year so a lot more drivers were in contention for the DIRTcar Regional bonuses from day one,” said DIRTcar Director of Competition & Track Sanctioning Cory Reed. “After we handed out the extra money at the end of 2006 word spread quickly about all that was available just by racing closer to home. We’re expecting even greater participation in our third year of providing regional recognition as drivers are now fully aware of everything that’s at stake. Following the Mr. DIRTcar Series makes the pot even bigger.”

Along with track and overall Mr. DIRTcar point fund awards, DIRTcar Regional Championships will again be on the line for 358-Modified teams during the 2008 season. The distribution of Regional Racing funds makes it the most lucrative regional post-season awards program for weekly teams found anywhere.

In 2008, DIRTcar-sanctioned tracks hosting 358-Modifieds have once again been divided into three regions with teams looking to share $14,100 in cash and memberships. Licensed drivers will compete against others within their own region for a series point fund that will reward $4,700 to the top-15 in each. The regional points will be kept separately and they have no direct bearing on any individual track points race.

In each of the three Regional Championships, points will be awarded for the best finishes (7 in East, 12 in West, 15 in North) in DIRTcar-sanctioned 358-Modified events. Legal events may be of any distance and may be either home track point events, part of a special mini-series or special events at tracks within that region. Events held at Rolling Wheels Raceway Park count toward any region with all Regional points ending on Monday, September 1, 2008.

The chase for DIRTcar Racing NorthEast Regional Championships concluded last year on Labor Day after five straight months of wheel-to-wheel, paint-trading action at more than 20 tracks. Crowned champions of their respective DIRTcar Region in the 358-Modified ranks were Yan Bussiere (Northern), David VanHorn (Eastern) and Pete Bicknell (Western).

For further questions regarding the 2008 DIRTcar Regional Racing Series format, please contact Cory Reed in the DIRTcar NorthEast Office (315/834-6606) during normal business hours or log into the DIRTcar homepage at to find out more about the entire circuit.

DIRTcar 358-Modified points structure for each Regional event:
Pos. Pts. Pos. Pts.
1. 60 13. 32
2. 56 14. 30
3. 52 15. 28
4. 50 16. 27
5. 48 17. 26
6. 46 18. 25
7. 44 19. 24
8. 42 20. 23
9. 40 21. 22
10. 38 22. 21
11. 36 23. 20
12. 34 24.- end 20

DIRTcar 358-Modified Regional Championship Point Funds
Pos. East Central West
1. 1000 1000 1000
2. 700 700 700
3. 500 500 500
4. 400 400 400
5. 350 350 350
6. 300 300 300
7. 250 250 250
8. 200 200 200
9. 200 200 200
10. 200 200 200
11. 2009 License 2009 License 2009 License
12. 2009 License 2009 License 2009 License
13. 2009 License 2009 License 2009 License
14. 2009 License 2009 License 2009 License
15. 2009 License 2009 License 2009 License
Total 4,700 4,700 4,700
Total regional payouts: $14,100

DIRTcar 358-Modified Regions
*Events held at Rolling Wheels count toward any region.
East (best 7 finishes): Orange County;
North (best 15 finishes): Airborne, Brockville, Can-Am, Cornwall, Drummond, Edelweiss, Granby, Mohawk, Lucas DIRTcar Series events (Granby-July 18, Drummond-July 19, Mohawk-July 31, Edelweiss-August 1, Brockville-August 2, Cornwall-August 3);
West (best 12 finishes): Merrittville, Ransomville, Lucas DIRTcar Series events (Merrittville-May 19, Ransomville-May 23, Humberstone-June 22, Merrittville-July 12, Ransomville-July 18, Ohsweken-August 8, Humberstone-August 17).

The Advance Auto Parts Super DIRTcar Series for Big-Block Modifieds is brought to fans across the Northeast by several sponsors and partners, including series sponsors Advance Auto Parts, Hoosier Racing Tire and Sunoco Race Fuels. Promotional partners include AMB i.t., Rite Aid Corporation and the University of Northwestern Ohio and the contingency sponsors are Bert Transmission, Bicknell Racing Products, Bilstein Shocks, Brodix Cylinder Heads, Crane Cams, Integra Shocks, MSD Ignitions, Motorsports Safety Systems, Penske Shocks and Wrisco Industries.

No tags for this post.

You May Also Like


Andrew Buff’s 2023 season will be significant in his racing career as he looks ahead to racing 358 Modifieds in 2024. The Latham, NY...


In his first visit to the track as an adult, Nelson Mason pulls off the win on night one at the Dirt Track at...


The best drivers from around the northeast and beyond will gather in Oswego, NY for Super DIRT Week 51, Oct. 2-8. So far, nearly...


Season-long battles at tracks across the northeast have led to five new DIRTcar Hoosier Racing Tire Weekly champions. Marc Johnson (DIRTcar Big Block Modified),...