Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Gary Lindberg charges to DIRTcar Sportsman Modified Series win at Brighton Speedway

Benson Auto Parts Applefest Shootout Weekend spells victory for Lindberg

BRIGHTON, ONTARIO – September 20, 2014 – Gary Lindberg charged to victory Friday night, Sept. 19, at Brighton Speedway to pick up his first DIRTcar Sportsman Modified Series victory of the season.

Dylan Evoy and Mike Maresca lead the field at the green flag with Evoy charging to claim the initial lead. Lindberg started sixth in the starting grid, but worked his way forward quickly, claiming third place by the second lap. Maresca usurped the lead from Evoy in lap 3, but only held on for a couple laps before Lindberg claimed the top spot in lap 5.  Cautions in laps 3 and 5 slowed the pace as the No. 29x spun out, but the yellow flag laps did not slow Lindberg’s advance.

Lindberg kept the lead for the remaining 30 laps, fending off challenges from Cody McPherson, who reached second place in lap 8, and outlasting caution conditions in lap 21 and lap 30. He claimed the win in the 35-lap feature race over Cody McPherson in second and Shane Pecore in third. Rounding out the top five were Corey Wheeler in fourth and B.J. WIllard in fifth.

The DIRTcar Sportsman Modified Series continues with another full night of racing Saturday, Sept. 20, at Le RPM Speedway in St. Marcel de Richelieu, Quebec. Meanwhile, Brighton Speedway continues Benson Auto Parts Applefest Shootout Weekend with the  DIRTcar 358-Modified Series Saturday, Sept. 20. For more information about the DIRTcar Racing Series, visit


DIRTcar Sportsman Modified Series Statistical Report

Friday, September 19, 2014

Brighton Speedway


A-Main (35 Laps): 1. 28 Gary Lindberg, 2. 7am Cody McPherson, 3. 0 Shane Pecore, 4. 47s Corey Wheeler, 5. 77J B.J. Willard, 6. 30 Brad Rouse, 7. 77e Ryan Stabler, 8. 83 Dylan Evoy, 9. 1M Mathieu Desjardins, 10. 92p Martin Pelletier, 11. 20 Jason Shipclark, 12. 92 Joey Ladouceur, 13. 7 Mike Maresca, 14. 52 Jessica Power, 15. 16 Brent Begelo, 16. 44F Jonathan Ferguson, 17. 180 Aaron Pugh, 18. 17 Tristan Draper, 19. 63 Cory Winters, 20. 23 Mike Stacey, 21. 2K Rob Knapp, 22. 18J Louie Jackson, Jr., 23. L12 Jeremy LaSalle, 24. 81 Bruce Makinson, 25. 72 Gord MacIntosh, 26. 15B Brianna Ladouceur, 27. 88c Connor Dawdy, 28. 29x Jamie Young, 29. 81J Bucky Johnson

Qualifying Heats

Heat 1: Lindberg, Wheeler, J. Ladouceur, Winters, Makinson, Shipclark, LaSalle, Draper

Heat 2: Desjardins, Pelletier, Power, Pugh, Rouse, Jackson, Dawdy, Johnson

Heat 3: Evoy, Begelo, Stabler, Knapp, Willard, Stacey, Young

Heat 4: McPherson, Maresca, Pecore, Ferguson, B. Ladouceur, MacIntosh


2014 DIRTcar Sportsman Modified Series Schedule of Events


Sun., June 1 Cornwall Speedway Cornwall, Ontario M.Pelletier

Wed., July 2 Ransomville Speedway Ransomville, New York J.Sharp

Mon., July 21 Autodrome Granby Granby, Quebec M.Pelletier

Tues., July 22 Autodrome Drummond Drummondville, Quebec S. Pecore

Fri., Sept. 5 Ransomville Speedway Ransomville, NY J. Friesen

Sat., Sept. 6 Merrittville Speedway Merrittville, Ontario C. McPherson

Sun., Sept. 7 Humberstone Speedway Port Colborne, Ontario M. Desjardins

Sat., Sept. 13 Mohawk International Raceway Akwesasne, New York D. Evoy

Fri., Sept. 19 Brighton Speedway Brighton, Ontario G. Lindberg

Sat., Sept. 20 Le RPM Speedway St. Marcel de Richelieu, QC

Wed., Oct. 8 Weedsport Speedway Weedsport, NY

Sat., Oct. 11 New York State Fairgrounds Syracuse, NY

Sat., Oct. 18 Brockville Speedway Brockville, Ontario

The Super DIRTcar Series and DIRTcar Racing in the Northeast Region is brought to fans by several sponsors and partners including Hoosier Racing Tire, VP Racing Fuels, Chevy Performance Parts, NAPA Auto Parts, and Safety-Kleen. Contingency partners include the University of Northwestern Ohio, ASI, Bicknell Racing Products, Bilstein Shocks, Brodix, ButlerBuilt, Cometic Gasket, Comp Cams, Edelbrock, Integra Shocks, Intercomp, JE Pistons, JRI Shocks, KSE Racing Products, Mobil 1, Motorsports Safety Systems, MSD LLC, Fox Shocks, Pole Position Raceway, Racing Electronics, Superflow and Wrisco Industries.

No tags for this post.

You May Also Like


After another weekend of DIRTcar Northeast action, four new drivers have taken the lead in the chase to become the top weekend warrior. Lance...

DIRTcar Sportsman Series

It’s the Central Square, NY driver’s eighth career DIRTcar Sportsman Series Win

358 Modifieds

For the first time in 2024, the DIRTcar 358 Modified Series will roar to life this weekend at Fulton Speedway. The Highbank Holdup 60...

DIRTcar Sportsman Series

The chase for the DIRTcar Sportsman Series championship begins this weekend with one of the four Sportsman regions taking the green flag. The North...