Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Babb Masters Macon Speedway for Fifth DIRTcar Summer Nationals “Hell Tour” Victory in 2013

Shannon Babb


MACON, Ill. – July 11, 2013 – Shannon Babb continued his mid-season dominance Thursday night at Macon Speedway as he rallied from the ninth starting position to lead the second half of the 33rd Annual Herald & Review 100, capturing his fifth checkered flag of the 2013 DIRTcar Summer Nationals “Hell Tour” season.

Babb, of Moweaqua, Ill., has proven why the three time champion should never be counted out. After starting the season relatively slow by his standards, Babb has scored four wins in seven races since the start of July and was just 50 points behind Brandon Sheppard entering the night.

Babb’s most recent victory would not be handed to him as he started from the inside of row five. Sheppard secured the pole-position but handed the lead over to Brian Shirley early in the feature. Babb reached Shirley and second-place running Kevin Weaver by the race’s halfway point. Shirley was glued to the top and Weaver glued to the bottom, so the faster Babb made the middle lane work for him as he split the two leaders in a daring three-wide pass for the lead. Babb secured the top spot and led the rest of the way to score the $5,000 checkered flag. Sheppard worked his way back to second as he continues to hold onto the points lead.

“I found (the middle groove) right away,” said Babb, who is now just 45 points behind Sheppard in the current standings. “I didn’t know how long it was gonna last. It kind of went away there at the end, but once we were in the lead we were alright.”

(Click here for news and information on the DIRTcar Summer Nationals.)

Ryan Unzicker, Dustin Griffin and Steve Sheppard, Jr. rounded out the top five.

Heat race winners included Brandon Sheppard, Brian Shirley, Kevin Weaver and Ryan Unzicker.

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour continues on Friday night at Kankakee County Speedway in Kankakee, Ill.

DIRTcar Summer Nationals Statistical Report; Macon (Ill) Speedway; July 11, 2013

A-Main (40-laps): 1. Shannon Babb ($5,000), 2. Brandon Sheppard, 3. Ryan Unzicker, 4. Dustin Griffin, 5. Steve Sheppard Jr, 6. Kevin Weaver, 7. Bobby Pierce, 8. Tim Lance, 9. Kyle Logue, 10. Frankie Martin, 11. Ryan Little, 12. Greg Kimmons, 13. Steve Kester, 14. Joseph Hughs, 15. Rich Bell, 16. Jason McBride, 17. Brian Divley, 18. Brian Shirley, 19. Jason Papich, 20. Matt Taylor, 21. Rick Standridge, 22. Todd Frank.

DIRTcar Summer Nationals “Hell Tour” Top 10

Pos. Car Name Points
1. B5 Brandon Sheppard 1,250
2. 18 Shannon Babb 1,205
3. 24 Ryan Unzicker 1,184
4. 32 Bobby Pierce 1,167
5. 20 Dustin Griffin 883
6. 77 Jason McBride 845
7. 81 Randy Korte 808
8. 11 Tyler Reddick 791
9. B12 Kevin Weaver 781
10. 48 Tim Lance 578

2013 DIRTcar Summer Nationals ‘Hell Tour’ Schedule

Day Date Track Location Winner
Wed. June 12 Brownstown Speedway Brownstown, IN Dennis Erb, Jr.
Thurs. June 13 Off
Fri. June 14 Cedar Lake Speedway New Richmond, WI Brian Birkhofer
Sat. June 15 Cedar Lake Speedway New Richmond, WI Canceled/Rain
Sun. June 16 Wilmot Speedway Wilmot, WI Kevin Weaver
Mon. June 17 Off
Tues. June 18 Off
Wed. June 19 Spoon River Speedway Canton, IL Brandon Sheppard
Thurs. June 20 Belle Clair Speedway Belleville, IL Brandon Sheppard (2)
Fri. June 21 Tri-City Speedway Pontoon Beach, IL Chris Simpson
Sat. June 22 Fairbury Speedway Fairbury, IL Ryan Unzicker
Sun. June 23 I-96 Speedway Lake Odessa, MI Shannon Babb
Mon. June 24 Peoria Speedway Peoria, IL PPD/Rain July 15
Tues. June 25 Off
Wed. June 26 Clarksville Speedway Clarksville, TN Brandon Sheppard (3)
Thurs. June 27 Clayhill Motorsports Park Atwood, TN Brandon Sheppard (4)
Fri. June 28 Paducah International Raceway Paducah, KY Billy Moyer
Sat. June 29 Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55 Pevely, MO Postponed/Rain
Sun. June 30 Lincoln Speedway Lincoln, IL Bobby Pierce
Mon. July 1 Off
Tues. July 2 Quincy Raceways Quincy, IL Shannon Babb (2)
Wed. July 3 Jacksonville Speedway Jacksonville, IL Shannon Babb (3)
Thurs. July 4 LaSalle Speedway LaSalle, IL Bobby Pierce (2)
Fri. July 5 Fayette Co. Speedway Brownstown, IL Ryan Unzicker (2)
Sat. July 6 Highland Speedway Highland, IL PPD/Rain Aug. 25
Sun. July 7 Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, IN Shannon Babb (4)
Mon. July 8 Off
Tues. July 9 Florence Speedway Union, KY Scott Bloomquist
Wed. July 10 Terre Haute Action Track Terre Haute, IN Canceled/Rain
Thurs. July 11 Macon Speedway Macon, IL Shannon Babb (5)
Fri. July 12 Kankakee County Speedway Kankakee, IL
Sat. July 13 34 Raceway Burlington, IA
Sun. July 14 Vermilion County Speedway Danville, IL
Mon. July 15 Peoria Speedway Peoria, IL
Tues. July 16 Off
Wed. July 17 Brushcreek Motorsports Park Peebles, OH
Thurs. July 18 Off
Fri. July 19 Attica Raceway Park Attica, OH
Sat. July 20 Oakshade Raceway Wauseon, OH

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals (The Hell Tour) is brought to fans across the country by many important partners including: Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Company), Hoosier Racing Tires (Official Racing Tires), Racing Electonics (Official Communication), Vicci (Official Uniform), VP Racing Fuel (Official Racing Fuel); in addition to these fine Contingency Sponsors: Beyea Headers, Butlerbuilt, Cometic Gasket, Comp Cams, Dominator Race Products, Edelbrock, Chevy Performance Parts, Integra Shocks, Intercomp, JE Pistons, JRI Shocks, Klotz Lubricants, MSD Performance, Petroff Towing, Quartermaster, Superflow Dynos, UNOH (University of Northwestern Ohio), and Wrisco Aluminum. 

No tags for this post.

You May Also Like

DIRTcar Late Models

Nearly 50 of the best dirt Late Model drivers in the country gathered at Volusia Speedway Park for a tripleheader of DIRTcar Late Model...


MD3 is giving Rookie of the Year contenders with the World of Outlaws CASE Construction Equipment Late Models and DIRTcar Summer Nationals Late Models...


Kankakee County Speedway is 2023 Track of the Year; Chris Sullivan honored as Promoter of the Year DIRTcar Racing celebrated its 40th season of...


The DIRTcar Summer Nationals returns for its 39th installment with a five-week lineup of events in 2024. Late Models will contest a total of...