Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

ELEVENTH HEAVEN: Hoffman Dominates Loaded Field at Spoon River for Eleventh Win

Josh James Artwork

The Spoon River Speedway pit area was packed with the strongest field of DIRTcar UMP Modified talent seen all season Wednesday night, and Nick Hoffman dominated them all. He’s now up to eleven wins in eleven DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals starts.

Once again, the three-time and defending champion led every single lap of the Feature, bringing him to a perfect 265-for-265 in consecutive Feature laps led. But not without a little shakeup on the final lap.

Josh James Artwork

Third-place running Josh Allen looped it in Turn 4 coming to the white flag as fourth-place Kelly Kovski spun to avoid. This erased Hoffman’s near four-second lead over runner-up Tyler Nicely, who sat right on Hoffman’s bumper for the restart.

“You never want to see that late in the race, especially when you’ve got a decent lead,” Hoffman said of the late caution.

The green and white waved together as Hoffman mashed the throttle. He immediately pulled away from Nicely down the backstretch and cruised across the line for his 49th career Summit Modified victory at a track he holds in very high regard.

Josh Allen (292) and Kelly Kovski (7) racing for third before Allen’s spin (Josh James Artwork)

“I love this place. I love coming here – it’s always perfect. It’s never rough and always fits my style,” Hoffman said.


The Summit Modifieds are back in action Thursday night at the fifth-mile Macon Speedway to support one of the most iconic events on the schedule – the 41st running of the Herald & Review 100. Catch all the action live on DIRTVision presented by Drydene.

ABBREVIATED RESULTS (view full results)

Feature (25 Laps) 1. 2-Nick Hoffman[1]; 2. 25-Tyler Nicely[6]; 3. 7K-Kelly Kovski[7]; 4. 35-Brandon Roberts[4]; 5. 96M-Mike McKinney[9]; 6. 99- Hunt Gossum[10]; 7. 05-Dave Wietholder[18]; 8. 14C-Rick Conoyer[12]; 9. 36-Kenny Wallace[2]; 10. T6-Tommy Sheppard Jr[8]; 11. 45-Kyle Hammer[17]; 12. K19-Will Krup[11]; 13. 77-Ray Bollinger[20]; 14. 24Z-Zeke McKenzie[13]; 15. 3-Mike Brooks[15]; 16. 242-Brandon Bollinger[21]; 17. 117-Frankie Wellman[16]; 18. 19T-Travis Thrasher[22]; 19. 292-Josh Allen[5]; 20. 7-Drake Troutman[3]; 21. 59R-Jacob Rexing[14]; 22. 25W-Allen Weisser[19]

No tags for this post.

You May Also Like


The DIRTcar Summer Nationals returns for its 39th installment with a five-week lineup of events in 2024. Late Models will contest a total of...


Troutman finishes second from 21st, Hoffman ties David Reutimann for most event wins He hadn’t driven a DIRTcar UMP Modified in almost 14 months,...


Hoffman returns, Dotson back in Longhorn house car, Winger and Zeigler represent Super Late Model invaders Every November, the Reutimann family and its historic...


The Dirt Track at Charlotte is “Where Local Heroes Become World Champions” during the eighth annual World Short Track Championship, Oct. 26-28. More than...