Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Night 10 of the 27-Event UMP DIRTcar Racing Summernationals: Erb Flawless In March To Fourth Victory At Peoria Speedway

PEORIA, IL – June 25, 2007 – Dennis Erb Jr. of Carpentersville, Ill., was flawless in marching to a flag-to-flag victory in Monday night’s 40-lap UMP DIRTcar Racing Summernationals A-Main at Peoria Speedway.

In a race that ran non-stop after a single caution flag flew on the first lap, Erb grabbed the lead from the pole position at the initial green flag and never looked back. He held off several challenges from Wes Steidinger of Fairbury, Ill., to pocket the quarter-mile track’s $6,000 top prize in his Petroff Towing/Thomason Transportation Rayburn.

It was the fourth win of the 2007 Summernationals for Erb, who entered this year’s 27-event schedule with a total of three career triumphs on the tour.

Erb, 34, tightened what is shaping up to be the closest Summernationals points race in several years with his score. He’s third in the standings, 28 points behind leader Mike Marlar of Winfield, Tenn., who finished ninth (his worst placing of the ’07 tour), and two points behind second place Don O’Neal of Martinsville, Ind., who finished third.

The 24-year-old Steidinger settled for second place, falling just short of his first career Summernationals win.

O’Neal finished third, followed by six-time Summernationals champion Billy Moyer of Batesville, Ark., and Jason Feger of Springfield, Ill.

Forty-seven dirt Late Models entered the event.

Heat winners were Feger, O’Neal, Steidinger and Erb, and the B-Mains were claimed by Jeep VanWormer of Pinconning, Mich., and Marlar.

UMP DIRTcar Racing Summernationals Feature Finish (40 laps):

1. Dennis Erb Jr.

2. Wes Steidinger

3. Don O’Neal

4. Billy Moyer

5. Jason Feger

6. Kevin Weaver

7. Rodney Melvin

8. Eddie Kirchoff

9. Mike Marlar

10. Terry Casey

11. Billy Moyer Jr.

12. Jeep VanWormer

13. Shannon Babb

14. Ryan Dauber

15. Steve Sheppard Jr.

16. Jordan Bland

17. Charles Hess

18. Tim Lance

19. A.J. Diemel

20. Eric Bruce

21. Steve Lance

DNQ: Adam Mefford, Dawn Memmel, Jay Sparks, Don Hammer, JR Shickel, Todd Bennett, Kenny Adams, Ron Bartels, Lance Alcorn, Chad Jones, Matt Murphy, Rich Bell, Russ Adams, Christian Rayburn, Shawn Gray, Brandon Thirlby, Chris Laney, Greg Longfellow, Ryan Little, Gerry Reeder, Jeff Maher, Mike Mullvain, Ed Dixon, Scott Bull, Cody Baumann, Jim Felker

UMP DIRTcar Racing Summernationals Point Standings (after 10 of 27 events):

1. Mike Marlar 731

2. Don O’Neal 705

3. Dennis Erb Jr. 703

4. Wes Steidinger 659

5. Rodney Melvin 637

6. Steve Sheppard Jr. 619

7. Terry Casey 587

8. Jeep VanWormer 559

9. Kevin Weaver 525

10. Randy Korte 477

11. Eddie Kirchoff 455

12. Jason Feger 439

13. A.J. Diemel 316

14. Rusty Schlenk 303

15. Billy Moyer 287

16. Greg Johnson 222

17. Ryan Dauber 214

18. Jordan Bland 212

19. Chad Zobrist 206

20. Matt Taylor 202

No tags for this post.

You May Also Like

DIRTcar Late Models

DIRTcar Racing officials have issued a suspension and fine to Late Model driver Kyle Bronson for failing a tire test after competing in the...

DIRTcar Late Models

Nearly 50 of the best dirt Late Model drivers in the country gathered at Volusia Speedway Park for a tripleheader of DIRTcar Late Model...


MD3 is giving Rookie of the Year contenders with the World of Outlaws CASE Construction Equipment Late Models and DIRTcar Summer Nationals Late Models...


The DIRTcar Summer Nationals returns for its 39th installment with a five-week lineup of events in 2024. Late Models will contest a total of...