Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Night 4 of the 27-Event UMP DIRTcar Racing Summernationals: Korte Bags Second Straight Win At Jefferson County Raceway

MT. VERNON, IL – June 18, 2007 – It’s Randy Korte’s turn to get hot.

The Highland, Ill., became the second driver to win back-to-back events on the 2007 UMP DIRTcar Racing Summernationals, capturing Monday night’s 40-lap A-Main at Jefferson County Raceway.

Korte, 42, of Highland, Ill., charged off the outside-pole starting spot to lead the entire distance in his Rocket No. 00. He was tailed closely for most of the feature by Mike Marlar of Winfield, Tenn., but the 2006 UMP DIRTcar Racing Late Model national champion made no mistakes and claimed the $6,000 top prize.

It was Korte’s ninth career UMP DIRTcar Racing Summernationals triumph, moving him into sole possession of ninth place on the tour’s alltime win list. He won three times en route to a fourth-place finish on last year’s Summernationals.

Marlar continued to run strong in his first-ever attempt to chase the full Summernationals schedule, holding on to finish as the runner-up for the second time on this year’s tour. His four top-five finishes in as many events events – plus a quiet night by Dennis Erb Jr. of Carpentersville, Ill., who finished 14th – elevated him to the Summernationals points lead.

Billy Faust of Lebanon, Ill., finished third, followed by Rodney Melvin of Benton, Ill., and Eddie Kirchoff of Gillette, Wy.

Thirty-two cars entered the program, which was delayed for a short time by rain just as hot laps were about to begin.

Heat winners were Faust, Marlar and Korte, and Chad Zobrist of Highland, Ill., and Erb captured the B-Mains.

UMP DIRTcar Racing Summernationals Feature Finish (40 laps):

1. Randy Korte

2. Mike Marlar

3. Billy Faust

4. Rodney Melvin

5. Eddie Kirchoff

6. Wes Steidinger

7. Don O’Neal

8. Kevin Weaver

9. Jeep VanWormer

10. Steve Sheppard

11. Michael Kloos

12. Greg Johnson

13. Patrick Sheltra

14. Dennis Erb Jr.

15. Jordan Bland

16. Rusty Schlenk

17. Jason Feger

18. Mark Faust

19. A.J. Diemel

20. Mark Voigt

21. Terry Casey

No tags for this post.

You May Also Like

Sportsman Modifieds

Benson Auto Parts Applefest Shootout Weekend spells victory for Lindberg BRIGHTON, ONTARIO – September 20, 2014 – Gary Lindberg charged to victory Friday night,...


Evoy wins 75-lapper at Mohawk International Raceway   AKWESASNE, N.Y. – Sunday, September 14, 2014 – Dylan Evoy charged to victory in Saturday’s 75-lap...

Sportsman Modifieds

Point leader Brad Rouse finishes a strong fourth MERRITTVILLE SPEEDWAY – Sunday, September 7, 2014 – Cody McPherson, of St. Catharines, Ontario, claimed victory...

Late Models

Crown Jewel Event Includes Twin Preliminary Features on Both Thursday & Friday Followed by Saturday’s $47,000 Finale ROSSBURG, Ohio – Sept. 2, 2014 –...