Phillips keeps rolling, theives Outlaw

MARS DIRTcar SeriesOktaha, OK (August 13, 2010) – Terry Phillips of Springfield, MO picks up the win at the Outlaw Motor Speedway and picks up $2,700 for his efforts and records his series best eighth feature win of the 2010 season.

Phillips started on the pole and led early, but it was second row starting Jeremy Payne of Springfield, MO that had the car to beat. Payne took the lead from Phillips on lap six and opened up a huge lead. Unfortunately, Payne slowed on the track on lap 22 with a flat tire, giving the lead back to Phillips. Payne would join the back of the field and rally back for an 11th place finish.

Terry Phillips
Terry Phillips - Ron Mitchell Photo

Eric Turner of Springfield, MO started sixth on the grid and by lap two he was in third. Turner would race in the top three for much of the race and finish behind Phillips in second. Brandon McCormick of Lebanon, MO started fifth in the feature and finished third. Raymond Merrill of Sallisaw, OK using McCormick’s back up car, started ninth in the feature and finished a respectable fourth.

Current Rookie of the Year point leader Gary Christian of Broken Bow, OK started seventh and finished fifth. Christian’s last top five was on June 5th at the Great American Dirt Track in Jetmore, KS

Phillips also records his series leading 75th career win with the MARS series.

A Feature Results (16 cars): 1) Terry Phillips 2) Eric Turner 3) Brandon McCormick 4) Raymond Merrill 5) Gary Christian 6) Rylan Long 7) Dustin Mooneyham 8) Colton Dunlap 9) Dan Leatherman 10) Leroy Johnson 11) Jeremy Payne 12) Darrell Mooneyham 13) Houston Garrison 14) Curtis Whittle 15) Shane Essary 16) Danny Womack

Heat #1 Results: 1) Terry Phillips 2) Rylan Long 3) Brandon McCormick 4) Dustin Mooneyham 5) Darrell Mooneyham 6) Dan Leatherman 7) Curtis Whittle 8) Danny Womack

Heat #2 Results: 1) Jeremy Payne 2) Shane Essary 3) Eric Turner 4) Gary Christian 5) Raymond Merrill 6) Colton Dunlap 7) Leroy Johnson 8) Houston Garrison

No B Features

The MARS DIRTcar Series would like to thank the following sponsors: Hoosier Racing Tire, Don Babb Motorsports, Allstate Insurance, VP Race Fuels, Wrisco Aluminum, GRT Race Cars, Powertrain Industries, Supermoon Graphics, Leitle Car Quest Auto Parts Aurora, Andy’s Frozen Custard, Libscomb Auto Group and IHG Hotels.

More information on the MARS DIRTcar Series and be found at