Phillips on a roll, sweeps the weekend

MARS DIRTcar SeriesEldon, MO (August 7, 2010) – Terry Phillips of Springfield, MO leads all 35 laps at Lake Ozark Speedway in Eldon, MO and sweeps the weekend with the MARS / UMP Challenge. Phillips picks up $3,000 for his efforts and records his series best seventh feature win of the 2010 season.

Phillips had the field covered with his only serious challenge coming from Mark Burgtorf of Quincy, IL. Burgtorf started outside of row two, but used a series of restarts to quickly work his way up to the leader. Burgtorf then used the high side of turns three and four to catch Phillips, but Phillips would hold his line and hold off the repeated attempts by Burgtorf. Mark Burgtorf would finish second.

Terry Phillips
Terry Phillips - Ron Mitchell Photo

After starting eighth, Brandon McCormick of Lebanon, MO finished third and recorded his best finish of the year with the MARS series. Al Purkey of Coffeyville, KS started the evening on just seven cylinders, but raced his way from his thirteenth starting position to fourth.

Jeremy Payne of Springfield, MO ran second to Phillips for the first half of the race, but would jump the cushion in turn two, allowing McCormick and Purkey to go by. Payne would try several times to regain the lost positions, but settled for fifth.

Phillips also records his series leading 74th career win with the MARS series.

The MARS DIRTcar Series returns to action next Friday August 13th at Outlaw Motor Speedway in Oktaha, OK.

A Feature Results (30 cars): 1) Terry Phillips 2) Mark Burgtorf 3) Brandon McCormick 4) Al Purkey 5) Jeremy Payne 6) Dave Eckrich 7) Brandon Sheppard 8) Frank Heckencast 9) Mark Voigt 10) Eric Turner 11) Tony Jackson Jr. 12) Denny Eckrich 13) Jason McBride 14) Matt Furman 15) Dustin Mooneyham 16) Danny Haynes 17) Darrell Mooneyham 18) Ricky Frankel 19) Justin Asplin 20) Chris Fetter 21) Leroy Johnson 22) Gary Christian

Heat #1 Results: 1) Terry Phillips 2) Brandon McCormick 3) Brandon Sheppard 4) Denny Eckrich 5) Jason McBride 6) Mike Hammerle 7) Rylan Long 8) John Driskill

Heat #2 Results: 1) Mark Burgtorf 2) Frank Heckencast 3) Eric Turner 4) Dustin Mooneyham 5) Danny Haynes 6) Chris Fetter 7) Dwight Niehoff 8) Rob Starky

Heat #3 Results: 1) Jeremy Payne 2) Mark Voigt 3) Justin Asplin 4) Al Purkey 5) Ricky Frankel 6) Bobby Pierce 7) Justin Wells

Heat #4 Results: 1) Dave Eckrich 2) Matt Furman 3) Gary Christian 4) Tony Jackson Jr. 5) Darrell Mooneyham 6) Randy Zimmerman 7) Leroy Johnson

B Feature #1 transfers: Jason McBride, Tony Jackson Jr.
B Feature #2 transfers: Ricky Frankel, Danny Haynes

The MARS DIRTcar Series would like to thank the following sponsors: Hoosier Racing Tire, Don Babb Motorsports, Allstate Insurance, VP Race Fuels, Wrisco Aluminum, GRT Race Cars, Powertrain Industries, Supermoon Graphics, Leitle Car Quest Auto Parts Aurora, Andy’s Frozen Custard, Libscomb Auto Group and IHG Hotels.

More information on the MARS DIRTcar Series and be found at